Finding Sources - Science Stories
Science stories in high-quality, popular magazines and news papers can be a great source! Below are some good places to try:
- New York Times - Science SectionIthaca College provides a subscription to the NY TImes. To activate it, go to our guide.
- Scientific AmericanEasy-to-read articles on recent discoveries in science and technology.
Finding Sources - Journals
- Nature - Aging CollectionA collection of aging-related research and news from Nature.
- Nature - NewsThe latest news from Nature, written for a wide audience.
- Nature - PodcastsLinks to podcasts on a variety of topics from Nature.
- Nature - VideosA collection of videos from Nature.
- Science - NewsThe news section of the journal Science.
Finding Sources in Databases
Finding good sources in databases can be tricky! There's a lot there, and it's easy to get overwhelmed. Here are some tips for managing:
- Use advanced search and add multiple words, phrases, or ideas
- Consider synonyms and related words when choosing search terms
- Use filters (sometimes called limiters)! You can narrow down a list of results by telling the database what you're looking for (ex. review articles, recent articles, etc).
Here are some databases to try searching in:
- Advanced Library SearchSearches across many of our databases. Use the filters on the right after searching to narrow your results.
- ScienceDirectSubjects covered include biology, chemistry, computer science, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, education, and psychology.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text articles from scientific, technological, and medical scholarly journals and reference books published by Elsevier.
