This book reflects on 'the political' in queer theory and politics by revisiting two of its key categories: hegemony and heteronormativity. It explores the specific insights offered by these categories and the ways in which they augment the analysis of power and domination from a queer perspective, whilst also examining the possibilities for political analysis and strategy-building provided by theories of hegemony and heteronormativity. Moreover, in addressing these issues the book strives to rethink the understanding of the term "queer", so as to avoid narrowing queer politics to a critique of normative heterosexuality and the rigid gender binary. By looking at the interplay between hegemony and heteronormativity, this ground-breaking volume presents new possibilities of reconceptualizing 'the political' from a queer perspective. Investigating the effects of queer politics not only on subjectivities and intimate personal relations, but also on institutions, socio-cultural processes and global politics, this book will be of interest to those working in the fields of critical theory, gender and sexuality, queer theory, postcolonial studies, and feminist political theory.
In recent years, there has been substantial progress on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) civil rights in the United States. We are now, though, in a time of incredible political uncertainty for queer people. LGBTQ Social Movements provides an accessible introduction to mainstream LGBTQ movements in the US, illustrating the many forms that LGBTQ activism has taken since the mid-twentieth century.
Supports gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender research. Contents: Citations and full-text articles from academic, radical, community, and independent presses. 1970-present.
Collects primary source materials from 20 collections including:
GLBT Historical Society; Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation, Inc.; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; National Library of Medicine (United States); British Library of Political and Economic Science at the London School of Economics; and Women's Energy Bank. Contents: Newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other primary source materials. 1940-2014 (mostly 1950-1990).
Formerly known as LGBT life with Full Text, this database provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications. Contents: Full-text articles, primary sources, monographs, magazines, and newspapers and a specialized thesaurus.