Statistics and Datasets

As content on government websites changes, previously available information and data may be difficult to find. This guide lists resources that provide access to information from the United States federal government.

What is the status of the official data published by U.S. federal statistical agencies? As the current administration continues its disassembling of huge swaths of the federal government, not only are the workers and services gone, so of course is much of the data generated by those employees. And federal statistical data and datasets, whether census data or statistics on the economy, health, education, or other critical public matters, are what librarians and information professionals rely upon to answer patron questions and perform research and analysis for internal, data-driven projects.

Captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020, and 2024. We have closed the EOT seed nomination form for the 2024 harvest

This is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. We want to know what is happening in the community so that we can coordinate focus. Efforts include: data gathering, data curation and cleaning, data cataloging, and providing sustained access and distribution of data assets.

Helps to build refuge for federal data and supports climate and environmental research and advocacy. We are committed to fact-based arguments. DataRefuge preserves the facts we need at a time of ongoing climate change. This site is one part of the project. The vast majority of the government information gathered through this project is available from the Internet Archive through the End of Term project. This data catalog is a place to store data that is difficult or impossible to harvest through web crawlers.

The purpose of Data.gov is "to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." The site includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog, and the geodata catalog.

Table with links showing what datasets are available and for what time periods.

Your Portal to U.S. Data. Your One-Stop Destination for Economic Development
Data & Tools

The Economic Report of the President (ERP) is an annual report produced by the Council of Economic Advisers. An important vehicle for presenting the Administration’s domestic and international economic policies, it provides an overview of the nation’s economic progress with text and extensive data appendices.

Census data from across the United States.

The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge. The software code is open source - users can build custom applications by adding other data.

Over 1,600 New York State data resources on topics ranging from farmers' markets to solar photovoltaic projects to MTA turnstile usage. Browse and download.

A volunteer coalition of several environmental, justice, and policy organizations; researchers across several universities, archivists, and students who rely on federal datasets and tools to support critical research, advocacy, policy, and litigation and are committed to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data. The organization archives data that can be viewed on its website.

Organized into chapters focusing on specific governmental functions or subjects, such as Education, Transportation, and Finances. At the beginning of each of these 15 sections, “Highlight” information is provided along with a listing of tables in that section. For most of the tables, data are presented for the five boroughs of New York City and the 57 counties outside New York City

NYC Open Data contains information that is collected and maintained by the City government. Both New York State and the federal government also maintain data related to New York City that may not appear on NYC Open Data. Users can browse data.ny.gov to download data from New York State on topics from farmers’ markets to MTA turnstile usage. Federal datasets, such as census information and data from the College Scorecard, can be found on data.gov.

By collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you’ll find the data you're looking for.

Search for free datasets.

Google has organized and made easily accessible many kinds of information — web pages, images, maps, videos and so on. Now we are doing this for publicly available data. We have organized the core of this data from a wide range of sources, ranging from governmental statistical organizations like census bureaus to organizations like the World Bank and the United Nations.

Wide range of publicly available datasets from governmental and NGO agencies.

Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets.
Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

DataCite is a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs. Organizations within the research community join DataCite as members to be able to assign DOIs to all their research outputs. This way, their outputs become discoverable and associated metadata is made available to the community.

Compile, assess, and disseminate information on statistical or survey methods and practices for Federal statistical agencies;
Provide recommendations on issues of statistical methodology such as measurement, analysis, survey methods, survey errors, data collection methods and technologies, record linkage, disclosure limitation, and dissemination of information that affect federal statistical programs and improve data quality, including timeliness, accuracy, relevance, utility, accessibility, and cost effectiveness;

The USDA Open Data Catalog is the authoritative source of publicly available USDA data. Topics range from animals, food & nutrition to urban agriculture.

Is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.