ICSM Hello China
Books
Insights into Chinese culture by Call Number: DS721 .Y39 2008
Encountering the Chinese by ISBN: 9780984247196Publication Date: 2010Part 1 includes advice for Westerners interacting with the Chinese. Part 2 includes advice for Westerners living and working in the PRC.
Encyclopedias
- Britannica Academic EditionContains content from Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary along with other research tools.
Contents: Reference entries, images, video, and primary source materials.
Encyclopedia of Asian History by Call Number: Reference Stacks DS31 .E53 198ISBN: 0684186195Publication Date: 1988This encyclopedia provides a record of the history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia. The 3000 signed articles include 1200 biographies.
DVDs
Forks Over Knives: An investigation of the health benefits of plant-based diets that includes research done in China.
Google World: Includes Google's controversial experience in China
Chai Qian: A portrait of urban space, migrant labor, and ephemeral relationships in the center of Chengdu, the capital of Sichuan province.
Leveraging China and India for Global Advantage: Discusses the economic realities in India and China for global companies seeking growth and innovation opportunities
Statistics
World Development Indicators for China (World Bank data)
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
Sample Statista Infographic:
Chinese Newspapers
China Daily: Official English language newspaper in China.
South China Morning Post: Hong Kong's English daily provides current news, audio video news, podcasts, RSS Feeds, and blogs.
Mandarin Language
Audio files and written equivalents for basic expressions, time and numbers, the human body, the home, nature, foods, money, and other categories. Choose a category, and then roll your cursor over a letter, number or picture to hear the pronunciation.
