ERIC contains abstracts, citations, and some full-text of journal articles, research and technical reports, conference proceedings, teaching guides and lesson plans. ERIC covers all aspects of education.
Another comprehensive database with substantial full text. Use the "Thesaurus" (above the search slots) to preview what Subject Headings are available. Subect searching can be a more efficient way to search than with only Keywords, since it guarantees that the articles retrieved actually be about the Subject--not just use a particular word.
Note that to the right of your search results you can limit your retrieval by "Source Type" (including Magazines, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals), "Document Type," (including Cover Story, Editorial, or Interview), "Document Feature" (including Photographs, Illustrations), and "Location."
Above each set of articles you retrieve ProQuest will display related Subject searches to help either broaden or narrow your focus.
JSTOR covers a wide range of scholarly journals in most disciiplines, always beginning with the first issue of each one. This provides 100% full text access to articles from not only the first half of the 20th century but even the 19th--and occasionally the 18th. Be aware, however, that at the other end of the date range articles don't appear in JSTOR until at least 2-3 years after publication.
JSTOR offers only a Keyword search of its complete full text, so retrievals are large, but the relevancy ranking does a good job of putting the strongest matches on the first few pages. This relevancy ranking does not weigh date, however, and will display a mix of articles written decades apart. So if your topic is time sensitive, be alert to publication dates.
JSTOR is excellent in the field of education--use it. And what could prove uniquely valuable is its historical depth. Whether your topic involves high schools or colleges, high school students or college students, you can retrieve articles from the first half of the 20th century or the second half of the 19th. This will allow you to sample changes in education philosophy and practice over a wide range of time. (And note that you can use the Date Range limit to target, say, 1890-1920.)
User Advisory: The academic journals covered here feature numerous book reviews, so it's a good idea to tick the "Article" limit box below the search slots so you won't be overwhelmed by book reviews on your topic.
Although a smaller database, Muse complements JSTOR. LIke JSTOR it provides 100% full text of mostly scholarly journals, but its coverage is entirely current--mainly spanning the last 10-15 years. Muse offers a basic keyword search (be sure to put the titles of literary works in quotation marks). Once you've retrieved a set of articles you can sort them into broad categories using the Research Area options on the left.
Note: Checking the "Articles" box under Content Type before you run a search will eliminate reviews of books about your topic and leave you with just the articles on your topic.
A weekly publication from Congressional Quarterly. Each report (approx. 30 pages) examines a single issue relevant to American public policy, including health, criminal justice, internaional affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. The non-partisan analysis always includes a "Background," "Current Situation," "Outlook," and "Pro/Con" section, as well as numerous charts and graphs of statistical data, maps, and a bibliography for further reading. Issues in recent years have included College Rankings (2015), Paying Student Athletes (2014), Humanities Education (2013), Future of Public Universities (2013), and Student Debt (2011).
An excellent approach would be to open "Issue Tracker" on the left and look at the reports collected under the headings "Education and Funding," "Education and Gender," and "Education Issues."
User Advisory: The archives here extend back to 1991, and since many of these topics are time-sensitive, keep an eye on dates as you scan the reports.
Get the Full Text
When searching, if you see the "GET IT" icon, click on it. You will be taken to the full text or to ILL if full text is unavailable.