Dance
Getting Started
Theatre production "Dance Concert." 12/3/2018, photo by Sheryl D. Sinkow, © Ithaca College
- Dance in Video, Volume 1 (Alexander Street Press)
Features videos from dance companies and performers worldwide, including modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and more.
Contents: Streaming video.
- Digital Theatre+
Contains over 900 full-length filmed stage performances along with educational resources.
Contents: Streaming video.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195187632Publication Date: 2009Oxford presents the first reference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history. In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, dance performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more.
Looking at Contemporary Dance by
With a focus on dance innovation from the late 19th century to the present, this history provides dance students with accessible information on the major contributors to the art. Organized chronologically by the decades in which innovators were born or dance organizations were founded, the study shows the similarities and generational character that arise from shared influence. Rather than illustrations or photographs, this modern guide offers links to YouTube videos and other internet references to view examples of the work discussed. The scope is international, with coverage of German, Swedish, Belgian, Dutch, Taiwanese, Russian, Finnish, and Spanish pioneers of the avant-garde to illustrate that dance is a global language that continues to break boundaries and explore new ideas. Just a few of the 120 artists and performers featured include Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey, George Balanchine, Mark Morris, Twyla Tharp, Merce Cunningham, Paul Taylor, Jose Limon, Katherine Dunham, Chunky Move, and Trey McIntyre.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0871273543Publication Date: 2012
Modern Bodies by
In 1930, dancer and choreographer Martha Graham proclaimed the arrival of "dance as an art of and from America." Dancers such as Doris Humphrey, Ted Shawn, Katherine Dunham, and Helen Tamiris joined Graham in creating a new form of dance, and, like other modernists, they experimented with and argued over their aesthetic innovations, to which they assigned great meaning. Their innovations, however, went beyond aesthetics. While modern dancers devised new ways of moving bodies in accordance with many modernist principles, their artistry was indelibly shaped by their place in society. Modern dance was distinct from other artistic genres in terms of the people it attracted: white women (many of whom were Jewish), gay men, and African American men and women. Women held leading roles in the development of modern dance on stage and off; gay men recast the effeminacy often associated with dance into a hardened, heroic, American athleticism; and African Americans contributed elements of social, African, and Caribbean dance, even as their undervalued role defined the limits of modern dancers' communal visions. Through their art, modern dancers challenged conventional roles and images of gender, sexuality, race, class, and regionalism with a view of American democracy that was confrontational and participatory, authorial and populist. Modern Bodies exposes the social dynamics that shaped American modernism and moved modern dance to the edges of society, a place both provocative and perilous.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0807862029Publication Date: 2003-11-03
Moving History/Dancing Cultures by
This new collection of essays surveys the history of dance in an innovative and wide-ranging fashion. Editors Dils and Albright address the current dearth of comprehensive teaching material in the dance history field through the creation of a multifaceted, non-linear, yet well-structured and comprehensive survey of select moments in the development of both American and World dance. This book is illustrated with over 50 photographs, and would make an ideal text for undergraduate classes in dance ethnography, criticism or appreciation, as well as dance history--particularly those with a cross-cultural, contemporary, or an American focus. The reader is organized into four thematic sections which allow for varied and individualized course use: Thinking about Dance History: Theories and Practices, World Dance Traditions, America Dancing, and Contemporary Dance: Global Contexts. The editors have structured the readings with the understanding that contemporary theory has thoroughly questioned the discursive construction of history and the resultant canonization of certain dances, texts and points of view. The historical readings are presented in a way that encourages thoughtful analysis and allows the opportunity for critical engagement with the text. Ebook Edition Note: Ebook edition note: Five essays have been redacted, including "The Belly Dance: Ancient Ritual to Cabaret Performance," by Shawna Helland; "Epitome of Korean Folk Dance", by Lee Kyong-Hee; "Juba and American Minstrelsy," by Marian Hannah Winter; "The Natural Body," by Ann Daly; and "Butoh: 'Twenty Years Ago We Were Crazy, Dirty, and Mad',"by Bonnie Sue Stein. Eleven of the 41 illustrations in the book have also been redacted.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0819574252Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Understanding Dance by
Understanding Dance is a comprehensive introduction to the aestethetics of dance, and will be an essential text for all those interested in dance as an object of study. Focusing on the work of a number of major choreographers, companies and critics Graham McFee explores the nature of our understanding of Dance by considering the practice of understanding dance-works themselves. He concludes with a validation of the place of dance in society and in education. Troughout he provides detailed insights into the nature and appreciation of art as well as a general grouding in philosophy.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0415078105Publication Date: 1992
Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Call Number: Reference Stacks GV1585 .C78 2000ISBN: 0198601069Publication Date: 2000With an emphasis on performance the dance we see in theatres today - readers will find both fact and analysis on a wide range of subjects from dancers and choreographers to dance styles and technical terms.
International Dictionary of Ballet by Call Number: Reference Stacks GV1585 .I57 1993ISBN: 1558620842Publication Date: 1993The International Dictionary of Ballet has as its subject all of ballet, from its beginnings in the Renaissance to contemporary dance.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Call Number: Reference Stacks GV1585 .B46 1998ISBN: 1558623590Publication Date: 1998Offering an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of modern dance, this reference offers alphabetically arranged essays, selected, written and reviewed by expert contributors.
Oxford Handbook of Dance and Theater by Call Number: GV1594 .O94 2015ISBN: 9780199917495Publication Date: 2015The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Theater collects a critical mass of border-crossing scholarship on the intersections of dance and theatre.
- Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online)
Includes updated versions of Grove publications including:
- The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001);
- The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002);
- The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992);
- The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994);
- The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013);
- The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014).
Contents: Articles, musician biographies, and dictionary entries.
