STCM 10800: Communication in Organizations
Best Bets: Databases
Multidisciplinary Search
- EBSCO Research LibrarySearch across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
Business
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more. - ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information. - Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables. - ScienceDirectSubjects covered include biology, chemistry, computer science, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, education, and psychology.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text articles from scientific, technological, and medical scholarly journals and reference books published by Elsevier. - Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching. - Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
- Prendismo Video Clip CollectionThe Prendismo Collection, offers access to the world’s premiere collection of digital video content on business, leadership and entrepreneurship. Provided by the Ithaca College School of Business. No off-campus access. There is a fee to download a clip.
Communications
- Communication Source (EBSCO)Contains content from communications journals, magazines and other publications, covering related disciplines including linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies.
Contents: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles. 1900-present. - Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text CollectionContains articles from communications journals covering related disciplines including journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, television and media, and management.
Contents: Full-text articles from Sage journals.
News
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching. - U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States.
Getting to fulltext
When searching, if you see the "GET IT" icon, click on it. You'll be taken to the full text or to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if full text is unavailable.
How to Read a Citation
Keep Informed
Sign up for alerts through trade journal site or professional organizations; you can also follow them in Twitter, Google+ or Facebook. Library databases offer alerts but require you to create accounts first; library databases may offer full text holdings whereas the online journal's site may offer partial full-text to non-subscribers (this is called a paywall to help generate memeberships or subscriptions).
Some trade sites to follow:
- Integrated Marketing Communications: Try AdAge, AAF, or MediaPost
- Public Relations: Try Ragan's PR Daily News or PR News
- Communications Management: Try AllThingsIC (IC is internal communications) or SmartBrief on Leadership
Journals
Search all the library's journals by title or ISSN.
Journals: a STCM selection
These are selected journal titles that might be of interest to those in Strat Com. You can set up content alerts through the databases. Sometimes you may wish to set up alerts via the publisher's website directly or follow them in Twitter:
- Academy of Management learning & education
- Advertising Age - publisher's website AdAge
- Communication Education
- Communication Theory
- Communication World
- Communication Yearbook
- Design Issues
- Educational Media International
- Educational Technology
- Educational Technology Research and Development
- Harvard business review
- Human Communication Research
- Human Resource Development Quarterly
- Human Resource Management
- Innovations in Education and Teaching International
- Interactive Design Annual (part of Communication Arts)
- International Journal of Instructional Media
- International Journal of Strategic Communication
- Journal of Advertising Education
- Journal of Communication
- Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication
- Journal of Distance Education
- Journal of Educational Advancement & Marketing
- Journal of Educational Technology Systems
- Journal of Employee Communication Management
- Journal of Instruction Delivery Systems
- Journal of International Communication
- Journal of Marketing Communications
- Journal of Public Relations Research
- Journal of Visual Literacy
- Management Communication Quarterly
- PRweek (U.S. ed.)
- Performance Improvement (ISPI)
- Performance improvement quarterly
- Public Relations Quarterly
- Public Relations Review
- Ragan Report
- Social Marketing Quarterly
- Strategic Communication Management
- T+D
- Training
- Visual Communication Quarterly
Ad Age RSS
Loading ...
