Skip to main content

Leganto

Leganto

Leganto is an online application that supports the creation and management of course resource lists. Instructors can build, maintain, and share resource lists that include all material types, library staff can provide resources efficiently, and students can access all course materials in one place and from any device. Leganto integrates with the IC library's system, Sakai CMS,  mobile apps, and citation tools. 

 

How is Leganto Different Than Sakai?

Leganto is a tool used in Sakai to create resource lists.

For instructors, Leganto:

  • Contains readings from library databases or PDFs
    • Reading lists can be "Sent" with a click of a mouse to the Library for processing - no more filling out reserve forms
  • Contains video content from Kaltura
  • Allows for the "Drag and Drop" of citations and then "send" to the library for processing using Cite-it
  • Provides data on how many times a reading has been accessed
  • Provides notifications on students not participating in readings
  • Allows instructors to collaborate to suggest readings based on similar courses taught
  • Provides "Like", "Read It" and "Due Date" tags for readings
  • Once an instructor has created a reading list in Leganto, the list remains in the Leganto
    repository, available for editing and reuse in the future.

For students, Leganto:

  • Gives the option to discuss readings using a chat box
  • Gives the option to recommend readings to the instructor
  • Allows students to create their own collections of readings
  • Provides "Like", "Read It" and "Due Date" tags for readings
  • Provides mobile-friendly access to content

Leganto Steps

  1. Log-into Sakai and select the relevant course
  2. Add the Leganto tool from Site Administration -> Manage Tools
  3. When Leganto has been added to the left side bar, launch it
  4. Click on the Press to continue to the External Tool icon
  5. Enter the course dates and title
  6. Click on Create 
  7. create
  8. Click on New Section in the upper right hand corner.
  9. section
  10. Now, you are ready to add items. There are three choices: 1) Search - Items from the Library's collection, either print or database. 2) Create - Items from your own collection, in any format 3) My Collection - items that you have previously put in My Collection.
  11. search
  12. You can create as many sections as needed and you can enter dates of when the sections are visible to students. 
  13. If using a material from the library's collection, Leganto gives the option of Send to Library; Library staff will receive notification that you would like the book or article posted to your course.
  14. send
  15. When you are ready for the students to view the resource list, click on the Publish option to make the list active.
  • publish

Additional Leganto training resources may be found on the Sakai Project Site.

Locating Course Resources

Contact your Subject Librarian if you would like assistance identifying items for your Leganto resource lists
Subject Librarians

Ben Hogben

Ben Hogben's picture
Ben Hogben
Contact:
Gannett Center
(607) 274-1689
Subjects:IC Library