ICSM Park Communication: Interpreting and navigating our nation's natural and cultural resources
Selected Sources
If a librarian visits your class, they will pull together specific resources in a guide like this one that will help you with your research. The sources may be a mixture of library databases (use Netpass to access), books, and free web sources.
Find a Park
Use a drop-down menu or click on the state to find a park.
Find Images
- National Park Service; Multimedia SearchSearches audio, video, and photos from NPS
- Ad*Access ProjectThe Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- NYPL Digital CollectionsThis site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
- Prelinger ArchivesPrelinger Archives holds approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films, with approximately 12,000 items held as of Spring 2015.
National Parks Magazine
You can access fulltext magazines such as National Parks Magazine though our databases.
To find out whether a magazine, newspaper, tv show, or scholarly journal is in our databases, do this:
- Click on the Journals tab at the top of the library's homepage.
- Type in the title of the source (not the title of the article). The ISSN is specific 8 digit serial number specific to a serial publication (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, etc.); if you have it, the search will be more accurate (it can otherwise retrieve publications with a similar title). The ISSN to National Parks Magazine is: 0276-8186
If your source is not found, you may need to contact a librarian. We may need to borrow it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.
How to Read a Citation
Get the Full Text
When searching, if you see the "GET IT" icon, click on it. You will be taken to the full text or to ILL if full text is unavailable.
