Banned and Censored Media

• Definitions What is the difference between banned and challenged books? From the American Library Association.
• "Book Banning." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2023. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints,  
• "Censorship." Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, edited by Michael J. Tyrkus and Carol A. Schwartz, 4th ed., vol. 2, Gale, 2022, pp. 310-318. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, . 
• "Obscenity." Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, edited by Michael J. Tyrkus and Carol A. Schwartz, 4th ed., vol. 7, Gale, 2022, pp. 349-353. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, 
• Triplett, W. (2004, April 16). Broadcast indecency. CQ Researcher, 14, 321-344.

Sample searches (in EBSCO databases) by Subject:

• BANNED Films
• BOOK burning
• CENSORSHIP
• CENSORSHIP in literature
• CHALLENGED books
• INTERNET censorship
• MASS media censorship
• MOTION PICTURE censorship
• PARENT participation in children's reading
• PROHIBITED books

 Suggested library databases:

• LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts   Sample search: (banned or censored) and (books or media) 
• Academic Search Premier   Sample search: (banned or censored) and (books or media) 
• JSTOR 
  JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
• Project Muse 
  Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.

Also search Nexis Uni for current news and law review articles:

• Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis) 
  Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

SSRN may have some law review pre-prints:

• Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

• Censored: an annual compilation of censored stories
• Allan, K. (2006). Forbidden Words: Taboo and the Censoring of Language. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.
• Banned & Censored. (2000). [videorecording].  WinStar Home Entertainment. Includes 13 full-length, fully restored cartoons, made during the 1930s and 1940s, which were banned or censored by the Hayes Office.
• Black, G. D. (1994). Hollywood Censored: Morality Codes, Catholics, and the Movies. Cambridge studies in the history of mass communications. Cambridge [England]: Cambridge University Press.
• Boyer, P. S. (2002). Purity in Print: Book Censorship in America from the Gilded Age to the Computer Age. Print culture history in modern America (2nd ed.). Madison, Wis: University of Wisconsin Press.
• Bleep! Censoring Rock and Rap Music. (1999). Contributions to the study of popular culture. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.
• Blecha, P. (2004). Taboo Tunes: A History of Banned Bands & Censored Songs. San Francisco: Backbeat Books. Missing, replacement ordered.
• Burn This Book: PEN Writers Speak Out on the Power of the Word. (2009). (1st ed.). New York, NY: HarperStudio.
• Dershowitz, A. M. (2002). Shouting Fire: Civil Liberties in a Turbulent Age (1st ed.). Boston: Little, Brown.
• Doyle, R. P. (2010). Banned Books: Challenging Our Freedom to Read. Chicago, Ill: American Library Association.
• Haight, A. L. (1978). Banned Books, 387 B.C. to 1978 A.D (4th ed.). New York: R. R. Bowker.
• Howl on Trial: The Battle for Free Expression. (2006).  San Francisco: City Lights Books.
• Jansen, S. C. (1991). Censorship: The Knot That Binds Power and Knowledge. New York: Oxford University Press.
• Johnson, T. (1997). Censored Screams: The British Ban on Hollywood Horror in the Thirties. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland.
• Levinson, N. (2003). Outspoken Free Speech Stories. Berkeley: University of California Press. 
• Parker, A. M. (1997). Purifying America: Women, Cultural Reform, and Pro-Censorship Activism, 1873-1933. Women in American history. Urbana: University of Illinois Press.
• Semonche, J. E. (2007). Censoring Sex: A Historical Journey Through American Media. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield.
• Sova, D. B. (2001). Forbidden Films: Censorship Histories of 125 Motion Pictures. Facts on File library of world literature. New York: Facts On File.
• Sova, D. B. (2006). Literature Suppressed on Sexual Grounds. Facts on File library of world literature (Rev. ed.). New York: Facts On File.
• Tropiano, S. (2009). Obscene, Indecent, Immoral, and Offensive: 100+ Years of Censored, Banned, and Controversial Films. New York: Limelight Editions. Prof. Tropiano teaches at Ithaca College's L.A. location.
• The United States of America V. One Book Entitled Ulysses by James Joyce: Documents and Commentary: A 50-Year Retrospective. (1984). Frederick, MD: University Publications of America.
• Wartzman, R. (2008). Obscene in the Extreme: The Burning and Banning of John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath (1st ed.). New York, NY: PublicAffairs.

Click on one of these subjects from out catalog to find books, ebooks and videos:

• Books and reading United States
• Censorship United States
• Freedom of information  United States
• Motion pictures Censorship United States
• Music Censorship
• Prohibited Books
• Reportage literature, American

Also try a keyword search for banned OR censored.