Biographical Resources

Covering the period comprising the Renaissance and Reformation, this book covers such figures as the religious leaders who contributed to the Reformation, scientists who paved the way for a new view of the universe, and Renaissance painters, sculptors, and architects, as well as writers, musicians, and scholars. This volume covers those who contributed to the fields of art and architecture, music, philosophy, religion, political and social thought, science, mathematics, literature, history, and education.

Important historical and cultural figures as well as some well-known individuals in Egypt's long history (c 3100 BC - c AD 600) are incorporated in this work of reference. Rulers and members of their families, significant figures and important foreigners with whom the Egyptians came into contact are all included. The entries are based on original source material and there are bibliographies for each entry.

Offers brief profiles of more than thirty thousand notable individuals, from Aaron, Charles Babbage, and Cicero to Xerxes, William Butler Yeats, and Zeno.

This biographical dictionary provides introductory information on 315 leading cultural figures of late medieval and early modern Europe. The work includes literary, philosophical, artistic, military, religious, humanistic, musical, economic, and exploratory figures. Political figures are included only if they patronized the arts, and coverage focuses on their cultural impact. Figures from western European countries, such as Italy, France, England, Iberia, the Low Countries, and the Holy Roman Empire predominate, but outlying areas such as Scotland, Scandinavia, and Eastern Europe are also represented.

Contains 150 expertly-researched biographical portraits (with pictures) of women and men who were active in, or part of, women's movements and feminisms in 22 countries in Central, Eastern and South Eastern Europe in the 19th and 20th centuries. The portraits include Romanian princesses, Serbian philosophers and peasants, Latvian and Slovakian novelists, Albanian teachers, Hungarian Catholic social workers, Austrian factory workers, Bulgarian feminist scientists and socialist feminists, Russian radicals and philanthropists, Turkish republican leftist political activists and nationalists, internationally recognized Greek feminist leaders, and so on, from all walks of life.

Here is a virtually complete list of persons identifiable as Jews in America by 1800, the result of a thorough search of manuscript materials and published literature for the names of Jews who lived in America (including Canada up to 1783) during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Each entry in this dictionary is accompanied by birth and death dates and places and other biographical data so far as they are available. Included are converts to Christianity and, in some instances, their children. Persons whose names or associations have resulted in their being incorporated into earlier lists of "Jews" are noted also, with an attempt to ascertain their identity. Only about 4,000 Jews, of whom 1,500 were native-born, have been identified in this dictionary -- and not all of these positively. Perhaps another 800 have been omitted, Rosenbloom points out, because their names are not included in extant records.

This work provides substantial biographical entries of 20 individuals who shaped and defined the debates during the Civil War period. Political and military figures, such as Abraham Lincoln and Robert E. Lee, writers such as Harriet Beecher Stowe, and abolitionist reformers, such as Frederick Douglass and George Fitzhugh, are included. An appendix of over 180 additional biographies highlights the lives of others who played a role in the debates of the Civil War.

People of the Underground Railroad is the largest in-depth collection of profiles of those individuals involved in the spiriting of black slaves to freedom in the northern states and Canada beginning around 1800 and lasting to the early Civil War years. One hundred entries introduce people who had a significant role in the rescuing, harboring, or conducting of the fugitives--from abolitionists, evangelical ministers, Quakers, philanthropists, lawyers, judges, physicians, journalists, educators, to novelists, feminists, and barbers--as well as notable runaways.

The Biographical Dictionary of British Prime Ministers is a wide-ranging, comprehensive guide to the political lives of Britain's prime ministers from Sir Robert Walpole to Tony Blair.

The definitive biographical guide to poetry throughout the world in the twentieth century and the only book of its kind to look at non-English language poets in such detail.

Planet Savers brings together the varied stories of the hundreds of movers and shakers that have spoken up throughout history and taken action to defend the world from pollution, deforestation, species loss and climate change.

This fourth edition of Roderic Camp's highly respected Mexican Political Biographies is an updated comprehensive biographical directory of leading state and national politicians in Mexico, covering the years 1935-2009.

Featuring more than 80 new entries and hundreds of revisions, this second edition of a classic resource is the most in-depth and analytical of its kind. Comprehensive in scope and meticulous in detail, The Encyclopedia of American Biography examines more than 1,000 Americans who have contributed to the historical and cultural richness of the American scene, from the earliest explorers to those making headlines today. Each entry is at least a full page in length, which allows for two sections. The first, the objective section, outlines all the notable facts, dates and events of the figure's career. The second section, a subjective essay written by a prominent scholar or authority who specializes in the individual being discussed, fills the gap left by facts alone. It evaluates and puts in context the subject's contributions to American life and thinking and it discusses his or her style and personality: It brings the facts to life. The book also includes cross-references, showing how these lives affected those of their contemporaries and successors, and recommended sources for further reading. The only single-volume biographical reference to offer in-depth information, The Encyclopedia of American Biography is a cornerstone to every home, professional and public library.

The first and only comprehensive biographical dictionary devoted to mythological women. * Over 2,500 A-Z entries detail the woman's contribution and places her in context with male associates * Includes a special index titled "The Men in Their Lives" which makes it simple to locate a figure through her relations such as Theseus' mother or Achilles' wife * Cross references and end-of-entry citations allow readers to go from most entries directly to the classical sources

This dictionary is the third of four companion volumes, each containing comprehensive biographical and statistical data on over 500 athletic figures including managers, coaches, executives, and media personnel. Each volume contains essays contributed by sports historians, sports writers, journalists, teachers, and publishers. Entries are listed alphabetically within each outdoor sport and cover major individuals from auto racing, golf, harness and thoroughbred racing, lacrosse, skiing, soccer, speed skating, tennis, and track and field. Amateur sports administrators, bicyclists, bobsledders, equestrian riders, field hockey players, promotors, sportscasters, writers, and yachtsmen are also discussed.

This superb biographical dictionary covers the lives of exceptional women throughout three and a half centuries of American history. Here are artists, lawyers, reformers, educators, entrepreneurs, physicists, writers, pioneers, presidents' ladies, film stars. Here are those known for their deeds and those famed for their looks--the genteel and the disreputable, the highborn and slave-born. Here are the famous in all areas of endeavor--names like Ruth Benedict, Jane Addams, Willa Cather, Isadora Duncan, Carole Lombard, Sojourner Truth, Pocahontas, Texas Guinan, the Everleigh sisters, Carrie Nation, Amelia Earhart. Here also are many names rescued from obscurity.

Baker's celebrates its 100th anniversary with this six-volume format. The 9th edition covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on the musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.