Diversifying Your Music Repertoire

Includes tabs for women composers, composers of color, and LGBTQIA+ composers. Compiled by Christian Folk. To add pieces, please email chrisfolk13@gmail.com

Wiki list of Black composers of wind band music.

Wiki database, searchable by a variety of criteria, including ethnicity and gender.

Lists of wind band works by diverse composers in general (same as Folk's list above) and on state band lists.

searchable list (largely defunct as of 2017)

from Bass Players for Black Composers. Site includes links to scores and media.

Rebeca Tavares Furtado's doctoral document. Annotated catalog begins on page 34.

Spotlight list from the Institute for Composer Diversity

Edited by Brandon Rumsey, organized by work type (chamber, solo, etudes/studies)

from site: "It provides information about works [by Latin American composers] where the cello has a prominent role as a solo instrument, soloist with orchestra, in duo with another instrument or electronic media, or in cello ensembles."

Composer and/or publisher websites provided

From site: "a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. In no way is it meant to be an exhaustive list. . . . Non-idiomatic, as it relates to black composers, refers to the original concert music that is not part of the traditional idiomatic canon associated with black musicians. That canon includes spirituals, gospel, jazz, hip-hop, and rap among others. There will be pieces that may be based on spirituals or gospel tunes but are, at their core, original songs similar to ones that use chorale tunes in cantatas and popular songs parodied in Renaissance masses.

"Choral works of composers from underrepresented groups" compiled by the Institute for Composer Diversity.

An introduction to and survey of repertoire by composers of color and native-born South American composers from Brazil, Peru, Cuba, Mexico, Guatemala, and Bolivia from 1600 to 1800, with an emphasis on villancicos, cantatas, and other works for voices and chamber ensemble.

list compiled by Jenny Maclay

Spotlight list from the Institute for Composer Diversity

Directory compiled by Flute Repertoire Specialist Dr. Jen Kennard and Managing Editor, Head Researcher & Writer Dr. Megan Hill for the RBP Foundation.

searchable by composer identity, content type, level, and instrumentation

Directory of woodwind solo and chamber music by "by composers from communities who continue to face marginalization in the field of classical music and new music." Brandon Rumsey & Thomas Kurtz, editors

curated by Myah Frank, IC '22; an excel list of works separated by instrumentation

"This spreadsheet will be an ever-updating resource for music written by Black composers for guitar/other plucked instruments, updating both as older works are rediscovered and new works are commissioned."

Spotlight list from the Institute for Composer Diversity

Spotlight list from the Institute for Composer Diversity

Includes tabs for women composers and composers of color. Compiled by Christian Folk. To add pieces, please email chrisfolk13@gmail.com

An up to date, and comprehensive online catalog that contains orchestral music from Latin America and the Caribbean

compiled by Calvert Johnson in 2013

compiled by Lucy Tarantino

Music by female identifying composers from around the world, compiled by Claire Edwardes

"Compiled/hosted by James Doyle, an open document of percussion ensemble works by women-identifying composers. Detailed instrumentation lists." (PAS)

compiled by Daniel Druckman

"This is a project that was completed as part of an independent study at the Eastman School of Music by Filipino-American Percussionist William Newton. "

list of works including length and level

Directory of woodwind solo and chamber music by "by composers from communities who continue to face marginalization in the field of classical music and new music." Brandon Rumsey & Thomas Kurtz, editors

list compiled by Sarah Hetrick

Searchable by instrument. Compiled by Last Row Music

Searchable by instrument. Compiled by Last Row Music.

Natalie Mannix's database of trombone music by women composers

Compiled by Douglas Yeo

"For this project, 'underrepresented' is defined as all gender-marginalized individuals and/or Black, Indigenous, or persons of color."

from Women of Note website

A Discussion and Analysis of Selected works by: Ulysses S. Kay, Adolphus C. Hailstork, Regina Harris Baiocchi, and Charles Lloyd, Jr. Orrin Wilson's 2011 dissertation.

Spotlight list from the Institute for Composer Diversity

Spotlight list from the Institute for Composer Diversity

"Virtual ensemble videos of the some of the best young Black tuba and euphonium players from around the United States."

Compiled by Dr. Juliet White-Smith, Joshua Dieringer, and Dr. Megan E. Hill for the RBP Foundation.

American Viola Society's database "explores repertoire by underrepresented composers that involves the viola as a significant voice."

Compiled by Rachel Barton Pine and Dr. Megan E. Hill for the RBP Foundation

"Compiled by Rachel Barton Pine and Dr. Megan E. Hill for the RBP Foundation. . . . This list is currently limited to works for acoustic violin and traditional symphony or chamber orchestra."

The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates. Related information includes range, tessitura, piano accompaniment, vocal line, and links to available scores.

"searchable access to recorded track information for concert Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists. The resource contains a selection from a century of historic and contemporary concert spiritual recordings."

"An extensive bibliography of books and other research resources. There is a small–but growing–list of biographies of vocalists and composers. . . . Most of these biographies now have video playlists of these musicians in performance themselves or of others performing their works, as well as photographs, music score examples, and links to resources related to their lives or careers."