ENG 28100: Romantic Victorian Literature
Jennifer Richards
Background Information
"Romanticism" In Birch, D. (Ed.), The Oxford Companion to English Literature. : Oxford University Press.
"19th century." Oxford Reference. 2012. HistoryWorld (Timeline of events in Europe)
"Romanticism." Britannica Academic, Encyclopædia Britannica
Finding Articles
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource contains citations covering literature, language, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and historical information about printing and publishing.
Contents: Citations, the MLA Directory of Periodicals thesaurus, and a searchable directory of noted authors' names.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
Contents: Synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, author biographies, full-text classic novels, short stories, and poems.
- JSTOR
Includes archival journal collections in the Arts & Sciences and Life Sciences covering language and literature, history, economics, political science, and health sciences.
Contents: Full-text articles and books.
- Project Muse
Subjects covered include literature and criticism, history, education, philosophy, political science, and gender studies.
Contents: Full-text peer-reviewed articles.
- Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to contemporary specialist arts titles and journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, applied arts, and cultural studies. Subjects covered include art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, and literature.
Contents: Full-text articles from peer-reviewed and trade journals.
Related Virtual Tours and Exhibitions
Featured in this Guide
Special thanks: This guide was built collaboratively with contributions and assistance from former Social Sciences Librarian Kelly Hallisy, and Prof. Elizabeth Bleicher, Department of English, Ithaca College .