ICSM Disability , Awareness and Inclusion
Databases to Help in Your Search
- CINAHL (EBSCO)
Provides indexing of nursing and allied health literature, including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association, covering topics including medicine, alternative therapies, consumer health, nursing standards, and research instruments.
Contents: Citations for journal articles, books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisual material, and book chapters. Some full-text articles. 1981-present.
Need search tips? Take a look at our YouTube video on how to use CINAHL.
- Cochrane Library
Contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.
Contents: Systematic reviews, clinical trials, methods studies, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
This database, formerly known as Health Reference Center Academic, contains content in the areas of medicine, nursing, and allied and consumer health.
Contents: Full-text articles, reference books, and videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Covers nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
Contents: Indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles.
- PubMed
Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Contents: Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, biomedical literature, and books.
Need search tips? Take a look at our YouTube video on how to use PubMed.
- PsycInfo (APA) (EBSCO)
Subjects covered include psychology, behavioral and social science, neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text journal articles and dissertations.
- Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Subjects covered include psychology, sociology, criminology, addiction, and communication.
Contents: Full-text, peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, and instructional videos.
- PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Contents: Abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
