THEA 12000
Jennifer Richards
Research for Ile by Eugene O'Neill
Clipper Bowhead frozen in ice. Public Domain photo from Wikimedia CommonsBackground Research: Finding Books
Suggested Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:
Browse the stacks on the 4th and 5th floors of the library for print books on ships:
- G 540 - 550 Seafaring life, ocean travel, etc.
- SH 381-385 Whaling
- VK 15-124 Merchant Marine History, conditions, etc.
And though you're primarily seeking images, don't forget that the texts of the books may describe key points about the construction, design, and everyday objects used on or within the boats.
Ship Vocabulary:
While discovering information from the books, write down terms which you come across while reading. They might help in finding further images. Is it a ship? A vessel? A bark or barque? Yes! Synonyms will be useful in searching. What's an aftercabin? Is it captain's quarters or officer's quarters?
Captain Ahab Had a Wife by Call Number: SH 383.2 .N67 2000ISBN: 0807848700Publication Date: 2000-10-16
Steam Whaling in the Western Arctic by Call Number: SH 383.2 B6ISBN: 9780295974477Publication Date: 1977
Databases
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers the performing arts worldwide, including all aspects of theatre and performance.
Contents: Citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and dissertation abstracts.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource contains citations covering literature, language, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and historical information about printing and publishing.
Contents: Citations, the MLA Directory of Periodicals thesaurus, and a searchable directory of noted authors' names.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
Contents: Synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals, author biographies, full-text classic novels, short stories, and poems.