Business
These are sources to find data and statistics on companies/industries
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables. - NetAdvantage (S&P)
From Standard & Poor's, this database contains financial information for US and global companies, including current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings, industry surveys, and other information for business research and analysis.
Note: For an overview of the database, please see our video. - EDGAR Database (Securities and Exchange Commission)Contains official SEC documents including Form 10-K, 10-Q, proxy statements, registration statements, and merger and acquisition documents.
Note: Be sure to look at the DEF14A (Proxy) statements and the Management Discussion and Analysis sections of Form 10-K & 10Q for insights into management.
- SEC InfoThis site links to various Securities and Exchange Commission documents that companies are required to file.
- Morningstar Investment Center
Find stock and mutual fund research, including information on the New York Stock Exchange, exchange-traded funds, and investment indexes.
Contents: Articles, videos, financial information.
Note: Access is limited to 3 users at a time. - Simmons Insights (MRI-Simmons)
Contains U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, and media habits. Users can create custom reports to analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.
Note: Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Need search tips? Take a look at our YouTube video and the Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView) Help section of our Marketing: Statistical Sources Guide. - data.census.govThe data.census.gov platform provides access to data and digital content from the US Census Bureau including some data previously available through American FactFinder.
Contents: Census data.
- Yahoo FinanceSearch for news, symbols or companies.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Find company information including financials, news, patents/trademarks, products, legal cases and competitors. You can also search for business and industry news. Search>Menu(upper left)>Company Dossier or Company Info (in the Guided Search)
- BloombergBloomberg is a terminal-bound financial services platform that provides analysis and quotes for equities (stocks) and indices, company and economic data for the countries of the world, real-time and historical industry and market news, and advanced analytical and data functions. It is an industry standard in the financial services and investment banking industries. Higher education terminals - including Ithaca College terminals found in the Trading Room in the School of Business and in the Library (to the right in an office behind the New Books shelf) do not include the trading module and market data is delayed by 15 minutes.
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView) Help
Simmons Insights is a database which surveys around 25,000 adults 18 years and over on their consumer preferences. This weighted sample is used to represent approximately 240,000,000 million adults nationwide. It collects a wide variety of demographic and psychographic data as well as media preferences.
- Introduction to Simmons InsightsQuick introduction to Simmons Insights new platform.
- Creating a Crosstab in Simmons Insights (video)Excellent video by Chad Bollinger of Ohio University explaining the basics of creating a Crosstab.
- How to Read a Simmons Insights CrosstabBrief explanation on reading the results of a Simmons Insights Crosstab.
