Culture, Race & Ethnicity

Features Black Historical Newspapers as well as over 120 primary source collections including NAACP Papers, Civil Rights Organizational Papers, Black Abolitionist Papers.

Contents: Newspapers, archival documents, videos, full-text articles, and essays.

This website presents a selection of primary source material documenting the Black Freedom Struggle divided into 6 phases including: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); and The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).

Contents: Newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, and correspondence. 1790-2000.

Collects full-text articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press, including top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Contents include African American, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications. 

Contents: Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal. 1990-present; plus historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Supports gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender research.

Contents: Citations and full-text articles from academic, radical, community, and independent presses. 1970-present.

Includes archival journal collections in the Arts & Sciences and Life Sciences covering language and literature, history, economics, political science, and health sciences.

Contents: Full-text articles and books.

Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work. 

Contents: Abstracts and full-text of scholarly journals, books, and conference papers.

Contains citations and abstracts covering US and Canadian history, popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature, and folklore.

Contents: Indexing for journals, citations and links to books and media reviews. 1895-present.

Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.

Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.