This guide offers a selection of library resources for learning Arabic. Start with a few of these dictionaries, encyclopedias and websites:
Arabic by Fethi Mansouri
Publication Date: 2012
This portable, user–friendly Arabic language guide and phrasebook is the easiest and most affordable way to learn Arabic .
Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature by Paul Starkey (Editor); Julie S. Meisami (Editor); Julie Meisami (Editor)
Call Number: PJ7510 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Literatureis an authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopediacovers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas. These include major authors, important works, and a variety of literary terms. Also covered are forms such as poetry, drama and newspaper writing and key critical concepts of Arabic literature.
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PJ6640 .O92 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is the most authoritative English-Arabic / Arabic-English dictionary ever published. Based on real modern evidence and computational analysis of hundreds of millions of words of both English and Modern Standard Arabic (thestandardized variety of Arabic used in writing and in most formal speech), the dictionary boasts more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations. This up-to-date resource has been designed for both Arabic and English native speakers and includes the latest vocabulary from computing,business, the media, and the arts, across both languages. The organization and layout have been designed for maximum clarity and ease of use. The most commonly used sense of each word is shown first, helping you to identify and understand the correct meaning, and more than 70,000 real-life example phrases help you interpret meaning and usage accurately.All Arabic text is shown with vowels to aid the learner of Arabic in pronunciation and comprehension and the Arabic-English section of the dictionary is usefully organised by root, which are listed alphabetically. The dictionary is also packed with extra features including tables of Arabic verbs,Arabic numbers, dates, and years, and irregular English verbs. Produced using the unique dictionary resources of Oxford University Press with an international team of expert advisors, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is a ground-breaking work, essential for any serious student of Arabic and English, as well as academics, professionals, business people, teachers,and translators.
My Easy Arabic Learn the Arabic alphabet, pronunciation and written form.