Spanish
Getting Started
City of Arts and Sciences, Valencia, Spain (Image by Enrique Zuñiga from Pixabay )
This guide is an introduction for finding books, databases and sources for Spanish language and literature. Start out with some quick reference sources below, or click on the tabs to the left for further information.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedianbsp;is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 113439960XPublication Date: 2004-02-12
Latin American Science Fiction Writers by
Many readers are unaware of the vast universe of Latin American science fiction, which has its roots in the 18th century and has flourished to the present day. Because science fiction is part of Latin American popular culture, it reflects cultural and social concerns and comments on contemporary society. While there is a growing body of criticism on Latin American science fiction, most studies treat only a single author or work. This reference offers a broad overview of Latin American science fiction. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on 70 Latin American science fiction writers. While some of these are canonical figures, others have been largely neglected. Since much of science fiction has been written by women, many women writers are profiled. Each entry is prepared by an expert contributor and includes a short biography, a discussion of the writer's works, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The volume closes with a general bibliography of anthologies and criticism.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0313061556Publication Date: 2004-03-30
Latin American Mystery Writers by
Latin America has a rich literary tradition that is receiving growing amounts of attention. The body of Latin American mystery writing is especially vast and diverse. Because it is part of Latin American popular culture, it also reflects many of the social and cultural concerns of that region. This reference provides an overview of mystery fiction of Latin America. While many of the authors profiled have received critical attention, others have been relatively neglected. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on 54 writers, most of whom are from Argentina, Mexico, and Cuba. Every effort has been made to include balanced coverage of the few female mystery writers. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and includes a brief biography, a critical discussion of the writer's works, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The volume closes with a general bibliography of anthologies and criticism.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0313061548Publication Date: 2004-03-30
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by
Latin American culture has given birth to numerous dramatic works, though it has often been difficult to locate information about these plays and playwrights. This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries. Each section features alphabetically arranged entries for playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements. The volume begins with an overview of the development of theater in Latin America. Each of the country sections begins with an introductory survey and concludes with copious bibliographical information. The entries for playwrights provide factual information about the dramatist's life and works and place the author within the larger context of international literature. Each entry closes with a list of works by and about the playwright. A selected, general bibliography appears at the end of the volume.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 0313017212Publication Date: 2003-12-30
