Communication Studies
Select Titles
- Annals of the International Communication Association.The title changed in 2017 from the Communication Yearbook.
- Communication yearbook. byCall Number: General Stacks P87 .C629Publication Date: 1997-2016Title changed to the Annals of the International Communication Association.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Watson and Hill dictionary in its 8th edition presents a fresh and comprehensive overview serving all aspect of the study of media and communication. It provides a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass media and Internet communication and continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. New entries in this edition explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years. The impact of the new online leviathans such as Amazon, Facebook, Google, Twitter and YouTube is measured against the traditional dominance, globally, of the mass media. Other themes include the interesting changes affecting public service broadcasting, the role of advertising and PR, the nature and extent of regulation, the impact of globalisation and the consumerisation of knowledge and culture. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1849665281Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by
The Encyclopedia of Communication Theory provides students and researchers with a comprehensive two-volume overview of contemporary communication theory. Reference librarians report that students frequently approach them seeking a source that will provide them with a quick overview of a particular theory or theorist - just enough to help them grasp the general concept or theory and its relation to the discipline as a whole. Communication scholars and teachers also occasionally need a quick reference for theories. Edited by the co-authors of the best-selling textbook on communication theory and drawing on the expertise of an advisory board of 10 international scholars and nearly 200 contributors from 10 countries, this work finally provides such a resource. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts. Entries cover several orientations, including psycho-cognitive; social-interactional; cybernetic and systems; cultural; critical; feminist; philosophical; rhetorical; semiotic, linguistic, and discursive; and non-Western. Concepts relate to interpersonal communication, groups and organizations, and media and mass communication. In sum, this encyclopedia offers the student of communication a sense of the history, development, and current status of the discipline, with an emphasis on the theories that comprise it.
Call Number: Reference Stacks P87.5 .E496 2009ISBN: 9781412959377Publication Date: 2009-- Encyclopedia of international media and communications byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2003Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture by
Focusing on the cultural distinctiveness and diversity of the modern world, the six-volume Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture is designed to meet the needs of today's multicultural classrooms and libraries. Thematic organization makes studying a broad range of topics- from film and art to foods and fashions-ideal for students of world history and culture. Appealing to a wide range of audiences, the Encyclopedia gives readers quick access to the popular interests in countries around the world, all while offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century.
Call Number: Reference Stacks HM621 .G74 2007ISBN: 031333255XPublication Date: 2007
The Handbook of Communication Ethics by
The Handbook of Communication Ethicsserves as a comprehensive guide to the study of communication and ethics. It brings together analyses and applications based on recognized ethical theories as well as those outside the traditional domain of ethics but which engage important questions of power, equality, and justice. The work herein encourages readers to make important connections between matters of social justice and ethical theory. This volume makes an unparalleled contribution to the literature of communication studies, through consolidating knowledge about the multiple relationships between communication and ethics; by systematically treating areas of application; and by introducing explicit and implicit examinations of communication ethics to one another. The Handbook takes an international approach, analyzing diverse cultural contexts and comparative assessments. The chapters in this volume cover a wide range of theoretical perspectives on communication and ethics, including feminist, postmodern and postcolonial; engage with communication contexts such as interpersonal and small group communication, journalism, new media, visual communication, public relations, and marketing; and explore contemporary issues such as democracy, religion, secularism, the environment, trade, law, and economics. The chapters also consider the dialectical tensions between theory and practice; academic and popular discourses; universalism and particularism; the global and the local; and rationality and emotion. An invaluable resource for scholars in communication and related disciplines, the Handbookalso serves as a main point of reference in graduate and upper-division undergraduate courses in communication and ethics. It stands as an exceptionally comprehensive resource for the study of communication and ethics.
Call Number: General Stacks P94 .H353 2011ISBN: 9780415994651Publication Date: 2010
Communication Studies
Communication
Communication--Philosophy
Communication--Research
Communication--Research--Methodology
Linguistics
Linguistic change
Language and languages
Language and languages--Origin
Language and languages--Philosophy
Oral Communication
Speech
Speech acts (Linguistics)
Discourse analysis
Semiotics
