Evidence-Based Practice in Health Sciences
Best Bets
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains abstracts and citations for biomedical and health journals.
Contents: Citations and abstracts. 1809-present.
- CINAHL (EBSCO)
Provides indexing of nursing and allied health literature, including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association, covering topics including medicine, alternative therapies, consumer health, nursing standards, and research instruments.
Contents: Citations for journal articles, books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisual material, and book chapters. Some full-text articles. 1981-present.
Need search tips? Take a look at our YouTube video on how to use CINAHL.
- PsycInfo (APA) (EBSCO)
Subjects covered include psychology, behavioral and social science, neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text journal articles and dissertations.
- Cochrane Library
Contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.
Contents: Systematic reviews, clinical trials, methods studies, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- Trip DatabaseA meta-search engine for health professionals to identify quality material on the web that supports evidence-based practice. Offers simultaneous searching of many websites that offer evidence-based practice resources, including SRs in PubMed, Bandolier, POEMS, the National Guidelines Clearinghouse, and journals such as JAMA, BMJ, and the New England Journal of Medicine.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesSpecial filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.
- PubMed Health Services Research QueriesProvides specialized PubMed search interface that focuses on healthcare quality and costs. May provide access to unfiltered literature.
- PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Contents: Abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- OT Seeker
Contents: Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials on the subject of occupational therapy.
- UpToDate
A clinical decision, point-of-care support resource designed to assist with medical diagnosis and treatment.
Note: Users will be prompted to create an account. Account creation will allow users to save search history, bookmark topics, receive notifications, and access the resource from anywhere via the mobile app. Registered users will need to access their account from the link on the library website every 90 days to confirm their affiliation with Ithaca College.
