Exercise and Sport Sciences
Best Bets
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers sports, sports medicine research, physical fitness, exercise, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, leisure studies, and occupational therapy.
Contents: Full-text journal articles, abstracts, detailed records for sports-related video, and searchable cited references.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)A comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text.
- PubMedA comprehensive journal index to over 4,600 biomedical journals, with links to some full-text. PubMed goes back further in time than Medline (Ebsco).
- CINAHL (EBSCO)This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
- Cochrane Library
Contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.
Contents: Systematic reviews, clinical trials, methods studies, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- ScienceDirectFull text of the Elsevier journals covering many subjects including medicine, neuroscience, nursing, pschology, education, and communication.
- PsycINFO (APA) (ProQuest)
Subjects covered include psychology, behavioral and social science, neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text journal articles and dissertations.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, covers all aspects of education.
Contents: Abstracts, citations, and some full-text of journal articles, research and technical reports, and an education-specific thesaurus. 1966-present.
- UpToDate
A clinical decision, point-of-care support resource designed to assist with medical diagnosis and treatment.
Note: Users will be prompted to create an account. Account creation will allow users to save search history, bookmark topics, receive notifications, and access the resource from anywhere via the mobile app. Registered users will need to access their account from the link on the library website every 90 days to confirm their affiliation with Ithaca College.
