Asian History
Best Bets
Start with some background research in Encyclopedias and Dictionaries!
Search for articles in the recommended databases.
Books and ebooks provide indepth research.
Primary sources bring history to life!
Best Bets - Databases
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Contents: Abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations on world history excluding United States and Canada. Covers 1450-present.
- JSTOR
Includes archival journal collections in the Arts & Sciences and Life Sciences covering language and literature, history, economics, political science, and health sciences.
Contents: Full-text articles and books.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database contains articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as Associated Press (AP) video content (1930s-present).
Contents: Full-text articles and video.
- Project Muse
Subjects covered include literature and criticism, history, education, philosophy, political science, and gender studies.
Contents: Full-text peer-reviewed articles.
- ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)
This custom link allows patrons to search across several ProQuest databases including APA PsycInfo, Healthcare Administration Database, Education database, Psychology Database, Research Library, and Social Science Database.
Contents: Full-text articles, abstracts, and ebooks.
Finding Books and Ebooks via Library Search
To find books and ebooks, search in Library Search and once you have results, choose "Library Catalog" from the Source list.
Using the Browse search and specifying browse by subject, using a country name and history will usually provide some sources. These are often followed by related subjects and divided by eras, so scroll down to see what else is available.
Best Bets - Encyclopedias
Encylopedias are a good place to gain general knowledge about a topic and often provide pointers to more indepth information.
- Britannica Academic Edition
Contains content from Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary along with other research tools.
Contents: Reference entries, images, video, and primary source materials.
The Britannica Guide to Modern China by ISBN: 9781593392253Publication Date: 2008Modern China is part of the Britannica Guide Series that offers a comprehensive introduction to the world's new economic giant.
Encyclopedia of Asian History by Call Number: Reference Stacks DS31 .E53 198ISBN: 0684186195Publication Date: 1988This encyclopedia provides a record of the history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia. The 3000 signed articles include 1200 biographies.
Encyclopedia of China by Call Number: Reference Stacks DS705 .P47 1999ISBN: 0816026939Publication Date: 1998More than 1,000 entries explore all aspects of China's past, present and future, with essay-length entries on provinces and major cities; Buddhism, Confucianism, Taoism and other religions; family life; calligraphy, embroidery, sculpture and other arts and crafts; folktales and mythology; martial arts, including tai chi chuan and kung fu; native animals and plants; emperors and dynasties; political movements and institutions; traditional medicine; contemporary leaders; festivals and holidays; foreign relations; language and writing; educational systems; Chinese communities around the world; and much more. Photographs and illustrations depict Chinese art and architecture, everyday life, cities, and political figures.
Encyclopedia of IndiaCall Number: Reference Stacks DS405 .E556 2006ISBN: 0684313499Publication Date: 2005The Encyclopedia of India encompasses the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture by Call Number: Reference Stacks DS822.5 .E516 2002ISBN: 0415143446Publication Date: 2001This Encyclopedia is a new reference that reflects the vibrant, diverse and evolving culture of modern Japan, spanning from the end of the Japanese Imperialist period in 1945 to the present day. Entries cover areas such as literature, film, architecture, food, health, political economy, religion and technology.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by Call Number: Reference Stacks DS779.23 .E53 2005ISBN: 0415241294Publication Date: 2005-02-11Explore a range of diverse and fascinating cultural subjects from prisons to rock groups, underground Christian churches to TV talk shows and radio hotlines. Experimental artists with names such as 'Big-Tailed Elephants' and 'The North-Pole Group' nestle between the covers alongside entries on lotteries, gay cinema, political jokes, sex shops, theme parks, 'New Authoritarians' and 'Little Emperors'. While the focus of the Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Cultureis on mainland China since 1980, it also includes longer, specially commissioned entries on various aspects of contemporary culture in Hong Kong and Taiwan.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by Call Number: Reference Stacks DS805 .K633 1983ISBN: 0870116207Publication Date: 1983This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture.
Databases A-Z
Full list of databases to which the library subscribes. See them all!
Journals
Search all the library's journals by title or ISSN.
