LibGuides: Human Rights: Websites

Intergovernmental & International Organizations

African Union: The African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights See also: Organization of African Unity: African Charter on Human and People's Rights ("Banjul Charter") posted on UNHCR.org
Council of Europe
The Council of Europe, founded in 1949, seeks to develop throughout Europe common and democratic principles based on the European Convention on Human Rights. There is a Human Rights tab on the website. see also COE's European Court of Human Rights page
International Criminal Court
Website of the court, an international organization seated in The Hague, governed by the Rome Statute. It was established to convict crimes of concern to the international community such as the Criminal tribunals for Yugoslavia and Rwanda. They have a YouTube channel and a Twitter feed.
United Nations
Portal to International Law and Human Rights from the United Nations. Includes links to international courts and tribunals such as the ICTY and the ICTR.
United Nations: Human Rights (Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights)
United Nations: Office of Legal Affairs Search the UN Treaty collection to find a pdf of the Rome Statute
United Nations: International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
United Nations: International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS) Full text UN documents from 1993+; General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, & Trusteeship Council from 1946+
Universal Declaration of Human Rights (United Nations)
Organization of American States: Inter-American Commission on Human Rights : American Convention on Human Rights
Peru: Truth Commission (on the USIP site)
South African Government Information: Truth and Reconcilliation Commission South Africa Report
Special Court for Sierra Leone "The Special Court for Sierra Leone was set up jointly by the Government of Sierra Leone and the United Nations."

Nongovernmental Organizations

Aegis Trust: Preventing Crimes against Humanity
Amnesty International Advocates for human rights around the world. Search the library page to find AI reports.
Freedom House Organization that monitors freedom, democracy and human rights worldwide. They publish the following reports: Freedom in the World, Freedom on the Net, Freedom of the Press, Nations in Transit, Countries at the Crossroads, and Women's Rights in the Middle East and North Africa,
Human Rights Watch (HRW) Advocacy group defending human rights around the world. Site can be searched by country or by issue area. Many free documents can be accessed under the publications page. An annual film festival is held.
International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) The ICRC, established in 1863, works worldwide to provide humanitarian help for people affected by conflict and armed violence and to promote the laws that protect victims of war. See: The Geneva Conventions of 1949 and their Additional Protocols
Reporters without Borders Advocacy organization that defends journalists, fights against censorship, and works to improve the safety of journalists worldwide. They publish the Press Freedom Index.

U.S. Government Documents

U. S. Department of State Department of the United States government that oversees international affairs. It includes a page on Human Rights. It incudes a link to U.S. Treaty Reports. Includes a list of treaty actions.
United States Senate: Treaties Portal to treaties received, approved, and treaty actions.
United States Institute of Peace "SIP is the independent, nonpartisan conflict management center created by Congress to prevent and mitigate international conflict without resorting to violence"
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1861-1960
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1961-1975

News

HuriSearch Human Rights search engine that searches across websites.
Hague Justice Portal Portal to information on Hague organizations focused on peace and justice. The site includes news and academic research.

Academic Library / Archives

Avalon Project at Yale Law School Provides documents in law, history and diplomacy. Includes Project DIANA - An Online Human Rights Archive and the The International Military Tribunal for Germany - A Document Collection.
Center for the Study of Human Rights in the Americas (UC Davis) includes The Guantánamo Testimonials Project.
Harvard Law School Library: Nuremberg Trials Project: A digital collection
National Security Archive (at George Washington University) Declassified documents pertaining to national security obtained by FOIA requests. Contains collections such as the Torture Archive (primary sources related to the detention and interrogation of individuals by the United States).
Posted January 2014: The Rwanda "Genocide Fax": What we Know Now" - NSA Electronic Briefing Book No. 452; "Warnings of Catastrophe: French, US, UN and Belgian Documents foreshadow the Genocide in Rwanda 1994" NSA Electronic Briefing Book No. 458.
Princeton Principles on Universal Jurisdiction (Princeton University)
Truman Library: Tokyo War Crimes Trials (select documents)
Truman Library: Nuremberg War Crimes Trials (select documents)
War Crimes Studies Center (University of California Berkeley) Research organization at UC Berkeley that promotes the rule of law in post-conflict societies worldwide. The site includes "Virtual Tribunal" pilots, trial monitoring reports, and a World War II Document Archive.