STCM 22000: Interactive Media
Background
- CQ ResearcherSearch for a hot topic such as Gun Violence and then look at the Maps/Graphs section. Look at the Source of the Maps/Graphs and go to that website for more information.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)Browse by Issues or Search. ex. Guns and Violence. Click on Statistics in the right menu.
Scholarship
- Library Search: Advanced SearchThe Library Search is a broad search across many library database. Run an advanced search such as (Guns OR firearms) AND violence AND (qualitative OR quantitative) & then click on Peer-reviewed journals. Some researchers create their own graphs.You may need to contact the researcher for raw data.
- Guides by Subject: To mine databases in a particular subject area or field, use our library guides to identify best resources.
Library Databases With a Statistical Emphasis
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Coverage includes sports equipment sales, sports participation statistics, the fan market, sports marketing information, and sponsorship for all major sports.
Contents: Full-text news and market research.
- Catalyst, powered by MRI-Simmons (formerly Simmons Insights)
Contains U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, and media habits. Users can create custom reports to analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.
Note: Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Need search tips? Try: How to Use Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) and Catalyst-MRI/Simmons YouTube Videos.
- International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
Site includes a link to IMF eLibrary which includes access to IMF publications.
Contents: Time series data for major economic aggregates, current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, currency, interest rates, prices, production, trade, GDP, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
