JOUR 48800: Issues and the News
News by Region
NATIONAL & INTERNATIONAL PRESS
National presses include the New York Times, USA Today and the Washington Post.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching. - U.S. Major Dailies: Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)Newspaper titles covered includes The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Contents: Full-text, digitized newspaper articles including full-page views, front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs. - U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)Newspapers covered includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Contents: Full-text newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from the United States. - News (Gale OneFile)Formerly known as InfoTrac Newsstand, this database provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers and news sources, as well as world news sources.
Contents: Newspaper articles, images, and radio and TV broadcast transcripts. - Newspaper Source (EBSCO)Contents: Newspaper articles from national, regional, and international newspapers and television and radio news transcripts.
- Al Jazeera Creative Commons RepositoryThe Al Jazeera Creative Commons Repository hosts select broadcast quality media that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses. -website
- BBC NewsBritish Broadcasting Corporation.
LOCAL PRESS
- Current issues of The Ithacan2013 to date
- Ithaca JournalNewspaper covering the Ithaca, NY region from 1999+
- Ithaca Times (ithaca.com)Ithaca's free weekly newspaper
- Tompkins WeeklyFree weekly news about Tompkins County, New York. Issues are available as pdf files.
- Cornell Daily SunCornell University's student newspaper.
- U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)Includes the Ithaca Journal
POLITICAL PRESS
Liberal magazines include:
Mother Jones, The Nation, The Progressive, Alternet, In These Times, Jacobin, The New Leader, Utne Reader, Dissent, American Prospect, The New Statesman (British), Truthdig, truthout, Z Magazine
Conservative magazines include:
American Spectator, American Conservative, National Review, Weekly Standard (ceased Dec. 2018), Washington Examiner, American Enterprise, Commentary, American Outlook, Policy Review, and The Spectator (British).
Check the Journals A-Z list for a particular title.
- Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)Produced by the Alternative Press Center, this bibliographic database contains citations from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals, including works by journalists, theorists, and writers from a wide variety of concentrations within the fields of alternative and cultural studies.
Contents: Citations for journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. 1991-present.
BROADCAST NEWS TRANSCRIPTS
Check the Journals A-Z list for a particular title. There are a lot of transcripts available via Nexis Uni but both ProQuest, GALE and EBSCO have databases that include transcripts.
GENERAL MAGAZINES
If you're not searching for a particular title, the following databases are broad-based and a good starting place. Look for a limiter for magazines or browse source titles.
- General OneFile (Gale OneFile)This general-interest database covers a wide-range of topics.
Contents: Citations and some full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles. - Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)This multidisciplinary database contains articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as Associated Press (AP) video content (1930s-present).
Contents: Full-text articles and video. - ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)This custom link allows patrons to search across several ProQuest databases including APA PsycInfo, Healthcare Administration Database, Education database, Psychology Database, Research Library, and Social Science Database.
Contents: Full-text articles, abstracts, and ebooks.
SPECIALTY PRESSES
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)Supports gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender research.
Contents: Citations and full-text articles from academic, radical, community, and independent presses. 1970-present. - LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO)Formerly known as LGBT life with Full Text, this database provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications.
Contents: Full-text articles, primary sources, monographs, magazines, and newspapers and a specialized thesaurus. - Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)Collects full-text articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press, including top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Contents include African American, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications.
Contents: Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal. 1990-present; plus historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
POLITICAL BLOGS
- Daily KosCreated by Markos Moulitsas, it is a liberal group blog.
- Democracy Now!Independent Global News. Includes transcripts.
- Drudge ReportAggregated news feeds from Matt Drudge. Some original reporting. Conservative.
- HuffPostNews & opinions with a left wing perspective.
SPORTS MEDIA
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)Covers sports, sports medicine research, physical fitness, exercise, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, leisure studies, and occupational therapy.
Contents: Full-text journal articles, abstracts, detailed records for sports-related video, and searchable cited references.
- Sports Illustrated Vault50+ years of Sports Illustrated content including video and images.
- SportsBusiness journalPrint source on the Popular Periodical shelf in the library.
