Latin and South American History

New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts.

The Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry section containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography.

This Encyclopedia offers more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the dynamic and exciting contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. Its coverage is unparalleled with more than 40 regions discussed and a time-span of 1920 to the present day. "Culture" is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.

This title provides an impartial and valuable background to the region, vital for anyone interested in the current affairs, recent history and economy of this vast area. Entries provide definitions of terms, concepts, names and organizations key to discussions of Central and South America.

Unlike a conventional war waged against a standing army, a "dirty war" is waged against individuals, groups, or ideas considered subversive. Originally associated with Argentina's military regime from 1976-1983, the term has since been applied to neighboring dictatorships during the period. Indeed, it has become a byword for state-sponsored repression anywhere in the world. The second edition expands the scope to include Bolivia (1971-1982), Brazil (1964-1985), and Paraguay (1954-1989). In mid-1975 the six countries joined forces, creating Operation Condor, a top-secret military network that hunted down one another's political enemies. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of "The Dirty Wars" focuses on the period 1954-1990 in South America, when authoritarian regimes waged war on subversion, both real and imagined. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on the countries; guerrilla and political movements; prominent guerrilla, human-rights, military, and political figures; local, regional, and international human-rights organizations; and artistic figures (filmmakers, novelists, and playwrights) whose works attempt to represent or resist the period of repression.