FINA 32100 Security Analysis & Portfolio Management
These are databases which will help you find articles.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)Good place to find articles on companies. The only place to find full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal.
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)
Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Search by Company Entity (CO) and by abstract/subject if possible.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present) (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal, including The Wall Street Journal Online (2010-present), and WSJ: the Magazine from The Wall Street Journal (Jun 2011-Apr 2013).
- New York Times (1980-present) (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text NY Times articles, including New York Times Book Review (1988-present), New York Times Magazine (1997-present), New York Times Online (2015-present), and New York Times Video (2018-present). Updated daily.
Databases to Find Company Financial Information
- NetAdvantage (S&P)This database contains financial information for US and global companies including prices, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings, industry reports, news, etc. There is analysis of 40 domestic industries (2x-yearly) and 12 international industries (1 x-yearly) with each industry given a Porter's Five Forces Analysis. Go to Research, Report Type>Industry Overview, Date Range>Last 12 months, Click on the Industry you want, choose Industry Overview (.pdf image) on the right to open. You can then print or download. You may also research companies and get S&P Analysis by typing in Name of company/ticker in search box, then going down left column>Research>Investment Research. You will then get a report from CFRA/S&P on that company by clicking on the .pdf.
- Morningstar Investment Center
Find stock and mutual fund research, including information on the New York Stock Exchange, exchange-traded funds, and investment indexes.
Contents: Articles, videos, financial information.
Note: Access is limited to 1 user at a time.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Go to menu (upper left) and choose Company Dossier and search by name or ticker. Links to financials, news, company description and more.
- BloombergBloomberg is a terminal-bound financial services platform that provides analysis and quotes for equities (stocks) and indices, company and economic data for the countries of the world, real-time and historical industry and market news, and advanced analytical and data functions. It is an industry standard in the financial services and investment banking industries. Higher education terminals - including Ithaca College terminals found in the Trading Room in the School of Business and in the Library (to the right in an office behind the New Books shelf) do not include the trading module and market data is delayed by 15 minutes.
