Cathy Michael
Library Search Scope Definitions
It is important to understand the Search Scope choices. When choosing a database from the A-Z list, I consider a couple key scope issues: does it include fulltext? When does coverage start and end?
Everything Searches the Library’s catalog (books, ebooks, sores, CDs, DVDs, Archives) PLUS most of our library database article indexes (ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale).
Library Searches our Library’s catalog only (everything that’s physically in the library: books, ebooks, music, movies, scores, etc).
Databases Searches across our library database article indexes only: newspaper articles, newspapers, images, and other online resources. Note that it may not include all databases, so use it cautiously.
Reserves Searches for items that are on reserve for classes at our circulation desk. The library does not purchase most assigned textbooks (there are some) so faculty often place a copy on Reserve. Or, if we do have the assigned book in the library, it is placed on Reserve so the whole class has access to it. Reserve copies can be checked out at the Circulation Desk for 2 hours.
Brainstorming Exercise (5 minutes)
Brainstorm on broader, narrower and similar terms related to your topic. This process will help you to zero in on your research topic, and the ideas you come up with can be used as keywords to search. It is ok to use the Simpsons Wiki or other Encyclopedia entries to help with your keyword brainstorm.
- "Satire." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 330-331. Gale Virtual Reference Library,
- "Rhetoric." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 237-239. Gale Virtual Reference Library, .
For background sources on issues, try one of these databases:
-
CQ Researcher
This database contains reports and analysis with opposing viewpoints on current issues.
Contents: Reports including background information and chronology, assessments, pro/con statements, and bibliographies.
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Contains a range of perspectives on many important social issues and current events, with pro/con viewpoints in an interdisciplinary resource. Areas of focus include science, environmental studies, politics, business, and social sciences.
Contents: Reference articles, viewpoints, infographics, news, periodical content, multimedia, and more.
-
Gale Ebooks
Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, this collection contains reference materials covering business, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies, and more.
Contents: Ebooks.
Library Search Practice
Take 30 minutes to practice searching library databases.
Try searching the following databases to find scholarly - peer reviewed -- academic articles:
-
Library SearchSearches almost everything the library has access to. Try advanced search for better results!
-
EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.