JOUR 31300: Journalism Law

Find the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.

Search bill text, status, summaries, sponsor memos, and floor vote. Links to search for NYS Legislative Bills, NYS Legislative Resolutions, and the Laws of New York (see also: Nexis Uni for Federal & State Codes - NY Consolidated Law Service).

This a free non-governmental website that is useful for tracking the status of federal legislation.

Advanced Search form for case law searching.

1996+ Fulltext of most cases that involved the FCC listed by year.

If the cases and codes you need are found here, this search works well with Zotero (downloading into a bibliographic manager). The cases are not annotated with core terms, summary, headnotes, and treatment as are cases in Westlaw and LexisNexis.

PACER is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator. Note: Need to create an account to use/ Most cases can be found in NexisUni; Use this for cases that are not yet decided and still in docket form. See Cathy for assistance.

Advanced Search form for code searching. You can narrow by jurisdiction (Federal, State) in the left menu after searching a topic. The United States Code Service (USCS) is the LexisNexis version of the United States Code.

Portal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access

Find the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.

NY Statutes via Nexis Uni.

Search bill text, status, summaries, sponsor memos, and floor vote. Links to search for NYS Legislative Bills, NYS Legislative Resolutions, and the Laws of New York (see also: Nexis Uni for Federal & State Codes - NY Consolidated Law Service).

Online municipal codes from General Code. Click on the New York map. Includes the City of thaca, the Town of Ithaca, and Tompkins County.

If you have the popular name of an Act but do not know where it is codified in the U.S.C., use this table. Wikipedia is actually helpful with this, too!

Search the CFR via Nexis Uni.

Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas.

Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents

Search proposed federal administrative regulations and orders via Nexis Uni.

Find and comment on Federal administrative regulations

1939 through current. The file consists of FCC decisions from the FCC Record, FCC Reports 2d, and the Daily Digest

From the University of North Texas. The FCC Record is a comprehensive compilation of decisions, reports, public notices, and other documents of the Federal Communications Commission from 1986 to the present.

An unofficial compilation of NY State agency administrative rules and regulations.

New York State administrative regulations via Nexis Uni.

Portal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access

Nexis Uni file containing: White House briefings and Presidential statements. Includes some Congressional hearings, National Press Club Speeches and conferences when they address major topics of current interest

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.

Posts reports by the Congressional Research Service, a nonpartisan think tank for Congress that analyzes topics of public debate.

The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

The Federal Communications Commission regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. An independent U.S. government agency overseen by Congress, the Commission is the federal agency responsible for implementing and enforcing America’s communications law and regulations. (Mission)

A task for of international partner agencies that protect against global intellectual property theft.

Try the "Law and Guidance" tab at the top of the page.

Bureau of the US Dept. of Commerce that advises the president on telecommunications policies.

The US government's broadcasting outlet and includes: Voice of America, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, Radio Free Asia, Radio and TV Marti, Radio Sawa and Alhurra Television. They oversee the International Broadcasting Bureau. Members of the Board are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Has jurisdiction over intellectual property & the internet.

Jurisdiction: Electronic communications, both Interstate and foreign, including voice, video, audio and data, whether transmitted by wire or wirelessly, and whether transmitted by telecommunications, commercial or private mobile service, broadcast, cable, satellite, microwave, or other mode; technology generally; emergency and public safety communications; cybersecurity, privacy, and data security; the Federal Communications Commission, the National Telecommunications and Information Administration, the Office of Emergency Communications in the Department of Homeland Security; and all aspects of the above-referenced jurisdiction related to the Department of Homeland Security.

The Subcommittee on Communications, Technology, Innovation, and the Internet has jurisdiction over legislation, Congressional action, and other matters relating to communications. For these purposes, “communications” includes telephones, cell phones, the Internet, commercial and noncommercial television, cable, satellite broadcast, satellite communications, wireline and wireless broadband, radio, consumer electronic equipment associated with such services, and public safety communications. The Subcommittee also is responsible for oversight of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB), and the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) at the Department of Commerce, which is the federal agency primarily responsible for the management of government spectrum and advising the President on telecommunications policy.