Skip to Main Content

Accessibility Resources for Library Users

Accessibility Information for Selected Databases

Many of the databases available for Ithaca College Library patrons follow the standards of 29 U.S.C. 794d (more commonly known as Section 508 of the US Rehabilitation Act) and/or use Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) as part of the accessibility verification process.

Below, you will find a selection of the accessibility features available in the databases we subscribe to. Please contact the Library if you have questions about any of the Library's resources.

EBSCO

Some full-text articles are available in HTML. When HTML is available, EBSCO provides text-to-speech functionality. 

New and recent PDFs in Ebsco Databases are ADA compliant. PDFs uploaded prior to September 2004 may not be readable by a screen reader. If you experience difficulty using an EBSCO PDF and a screenreader, please contact the Library or Student Accessibility Services for assistance.

Information about EBSCO ebooks and accessibility can be found at EBSCO's FAQ's.

Gale Databases

Full-text results found in Gale databases can be downloaded as PDFs or HTML.

Full-text results also include a Listen function. This tool allows users to have the document read aloud. Users may download this file as a MP3.

Listen Button

JSTOR

JSTOR articles and chapters may be downloaded as PDFs. If a PDF is not sufficiently tagged, JSTOR can manually tag PDFs upon request. Upon request, JSTOR will also reformat PDFs in the event that they are unreadable via a screen reader. You may contact the Library to help facilitate these requests. JSTOR allows up to three articles per request.

ProQuest Ebook Central

Ebook Central is designed for patrons with accessibility needs, particularly the blind and visually impaired.

Researchers can change the font for the Ebook Central interface to OpenDyslexic, an open-source typeface designed to combat symptoms of dyslexia, directly from the Profile page through Ebook Central.

Patrons using a screen reader may turn on Accessibility Mode themselves. For patrons who don’t use a screen reader but have accessibility needs, Accessibility Mode can be requested for their account at ebooksupport@proquest.com. Please also feel free to contact the Library with questions regarding resource accessibility.

Accessibility Mode controls can be adjusted through your Profile. Select "Profile" under "Settings," then adjust the accessibility settings.

ProQuest Ebook Central Profile

ProQuest Ebook Central Accessibility Mode

Additional information about ProQuest Ebook Central's accessibility features may be found at the ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide.

Terri Ann Coronel

Profile Photo
Terri Ann Coronel
Phone:
607-274-1892
Subjects: IC Library