STCM 45000: Critical Issues

• Bertrand, I., & Hughes, P. (2018).  Media research methods : audiences, institutions, texts  (Second edition.). Red Globe Press.
• Communication research measures : a sourcebook . (2004). Mahwah, N.J: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates
  & Rubin, & Rubin, Rebecca B. (2009).  Communication research measures II a sourcebook  . New York, NY: Routledge.          
• Hayes, A. (2012). Statistical Methods for Communication Science (Routledge Communication Series. Hoboken: Taylor and Francis. (Ebook Central)
• Information and Document Design Varieties on Recent Research. (2006). Document design companion series. Amsterdam: J. Benjamins.  (Ebook Central)
• Brewerton, P. (2001). Organizational Research Methods a Guide for Students and Researchers. London: SAGE.  (Ebook Central)
• Deacon, D. (2007).  Researching communications : a practical guide to methods in media and cultural analysis  (2nd ed.). London : New York: Hodder Arnold ; Distributed in the U.S.A. by Oxford University Press.
• Frey, L. R. (2000)   Investigating communication : an introduction to research methods. (2000) 2nd ed. 
• Frey, L., & Cissna, K. (2009).  Routledge handbook of applied communication research  (Routledge communication series). New York: Routledge.
• The handbook of media audiences  (2011). Chichester: Wiley-Blackwell.
• The Handbook of media and communication research: Qualitative and quantitative methodologies. (2012). (2nd ed.). London ; New York: Routledge.  (Ebook Central)
• Frontiers in new media research  (2012). New York: Routledge.
• Merrigan, G. (2009). Communication research methods  (2nd ed.). New York: Oxford University Press.
• Napoli, P. M. (2011). Audience Evolution: New Technologies and the Transformation of Media Audiences. New York: Columbia University Press. (Ebook Central)
• Poynter, R. (2010). The handbook of online and social media research tools and techniques for market researchers. New York: Wiley.
• Putnam, Mumby, Putnam, Linda, & Mumby, Dennis K. (2014).  The Sage handbook of organizational communication : advances in theory, research, and methods  (3rd ed.).
• Rubin, R. B. (2010).  Communication research : strategies and sources  (7th ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth Cengage Learning.
• The SAGE handbook of gender and communication . (2006). Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications.
• The Sage handbook of organizational research methods  (2011). Los Angeles: SAGE.
• The SAGE handbook of online research methods . (2008).  Los Angeles: SAGE.
• The SAGE handbook of social media research methods. (2017) (Ebook Central) Los Angeles: SAGE.
• Swanson, Holton, Swanson, Richard A., & Holton, Elwood F. (2005)​. Research in organizations : foundations and methods of inquiry Publication in the Berrett-Koehler organizational performance series. San Francisco, CA: Berrett-Koehler.
• Theorizing communication : readings across traditions  (2007). Los Angeles: Sage Publications.
• Yin, R. K. (2003). Applications of case study research . Applied social research methods series (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications.
• Yin, R. K. (2009).  Case study research : design and methods .  (4th ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage. 

• Divakaran, A. (2009).  Multimedia Content Analysis: Theory and Applications. .  Springer. 
• Fortunato, J. A. (2005). Making Media Content: The Influence of Constituency Groups on Mass Media. Mahwah, N.J: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (E-Book Central)
• Krippendorff, K. (2013).   Content analysis: an introduction to its methodology  (3rd ed.). Los Angeles ; London: SAGE.
• Krippendorff, K. (2009).  The content analysis reader .  Sage Publications.
• Leetaru, K. (2012).  Data mining methods for the content analyst: an introduction to the computational analysis of content. New York: Routledge.
•  Message effects in communication science  (1989). Sage annual reviews of communication research. Newbury Park, Calif: Sage Publications.
• Neuendorf, K. A. (2017). The Content Analysis Guidebook. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications. 
• Postman, N. (2008).  How to watch TV news (Rev. ed.). New York, N.Y: Penguin.
• Riffe, D. (2005).   Analyzing Media Messages: Using Quantitative Content Analysis in Research  (2nd ed.). Mahwah, N.J: Lawrence Erlbaum.
•  TV content analysis : techniques and applications  (2012). Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.

Find books by New Strategist Publications (ex. Who's buying by age / generation)

• Kelley, L. D. (2012).  Advertising media planning: a brand management approach  (3rd ed.). Armonk, N.Y: M.E. Sharpe.
• Handbook of marketing scales: multi-item measures for marketing and consumer behavior research . (2011). (3rd ed.). Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE. Other works by Bearden.
• Developments in Human Observation Methodologies. (2007). . Bradford, England: Emerald Group Publishing. (E-book Central)
• Jeffery, M. (2010). Data-Driven Marketing: The 15 Metrics Everyone in Marketing Should Know. Hoboken, N.J: John Wiley.  (E-book Central)
• Hajli, & Hajli, Nick. (2015). Handbook of research on integrating social media into strategic marketing (Advances in marketing, customer relationship management, and e-services (AMCRMES) book series).  (EBSCO ebook)
• Hamersveld, Bont, Hamersveld, Mario van, & Bont, Cees de. (2007). Market research handbook (5th ed.). Chichester, West Sussex, England ; Hoboken, N.J..: John Wiley & Sons. (E-book Central)
• The handbook of online and social media research : tools and techniques for market researchers 
  New York : Wiley, 2010.
• Handbook of research on digital media and advertising : user generated content consumption 
  Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2011. Single user only.
•  Marketing Metrics: The Definitive Guide to Measuring Marketing Performance . (2010). (2nd ed.). Upper Saddle River, N.J: FT Press.
• Katz, H. E. (2010). The media handbook a complete guide to advertising media selection, planning, research, and buying. Communication series (4th ed.). New York: Routledge. (E-Book Central)
• Sissors, J. Z., (2010). Advertising Media Planning (7th ed.). New York: McGraw-Hill. (E-Book Central). ** This book was purchased for single user access; only one person at a time can view it.
• Sterne, J. (2010). Social media metrics how to measure and optimize your marketing investment. Hoboken, N.J: Wiley. (E-Book Central).
• VALS (Values, Attitudes, and Lifestyles) 
  By Strategic Business Insights, this measurement tool based on psychographic segmentation is used in marketing to define targets.
• Wenzel, A. M. (2012).  The entrepreneur’s guide to market research.  The entrepreneur’s guide. Santa Barbara, Calif: Praeger.

• Altheide, D. L. (2013).  Qualitative media analysis (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications.
• Beuving, J., & Vries, G. (2015). Doing qualitative research : The craft of naturalistic inquiry. (Ebook Central)
• Brennen, B. (2012).  Qualitative research methods for media studies  New York: Routledge.
• Daymon, C. (2011). Qualitative research methods in public relations and marketing communications (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Routledge. (Ebook Central). ** This book was purchased for single user access; only one person at a time can view it.
• Flick, U., Kvale, S., Angrosino, M., Barbour, R., Banks, M., Gibbs, G., & Rapley, T. (2007).  The Sage qualitative research kit . London: SAGE.
• Gubrium, J. (2012).  The Sage handbook of interview research : The complexity of the craft  (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks: SAGE.
• The handbook of media and communication research qualitative and quantitative methodologies. (2012) (2nd ed.). London ; New York: Routledge. (Ebook Central). ** This book was purchased for single user access; only one person at a time can view it.
• Kvale, S. (2009).  InterViews : Learning the craft of qualitative research interviewing  (2nd ed.). Los Angeles: Sage Publications.
• Lincoln, Y. S. (1985).  Naturalistic inquiry . Beverly Hills, Calif: Sage Publications.
• Merriam, S. B. (2009).  Qualitative research : A guide to design and implementation  San Francisco, Calif: Jossey-Bass.
• Moisander, J. (2006). Qualitative Marketing Research a Cultural Approach. London: SAGE. (Ebook Central).  Jan 18 replacement ordered
•  The Sage handbook of qualitative research   (2011). (4th ed.). Thousand Oaks: Sage.
• Reynolds, Woods, Baker, Reynolds, Rodney A, Woods, Robert, & Baker, Jason D. (2007).  Handbook of research on electronic surveys and measurements . Hershey, PA: Idea Group Reference.
• Stake, R. E. (2010).  Qualitative research : Studying how things work  New York: Guilford Press.
• Wrench, J. S. (2013).  Quantitative research methods for communication : A hands-on approach  . New York: Oxford University Press.

• Rea, L. M. (2014). Designing and conducting survey research a comprehensive guide (Fourth edition). San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass. .(Ebook Central) ** This book was purchased for single user access; only one person at a time can view it.
• Bradburn, N. M. (2004).  Asking questions : The definitive guide to questionnaire design : For market research, political polls, and social and health questionnaires  (Rev. ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
• Sudman, S. (1996).  Thinking about answers : The application of cognitive processes to survey methodology (1st ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers.

• Beatty, A., National Research Council (U.S.). Studying Media Effects on Children and Youth Improving Methods and Measures,Workshop Summary. Washington, D.C: National Academies Press. (E-Book Central)
• Berger, A. A. (2012).  Media analysis techniques (4th ed.). Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage.
• Berger, A. A. (2014).  Media and communication research methods : An introduction to qualitative and quantitative approaches  (Third edition). Los Angeles: SAGE.
•  Changing media markets in Europe and abroad : New ways of handling information and entertainment content  (2006). Series on international media research. New York: Pabst Science.
• Cohen, J. (1995). Through the media looking glass : Decoding bias and blather in the news. Monroe, Me: Common Courage Press.
• International Media Research a Critical Survey. (1998).  London: Routledge. (E-Book Central)
• Jamieson, K., & Campbell, K. (2006). The interplay of influence : News, advertising, politics, and the internet (6th ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth. General Stacks   P94 .J34 2006  
• Jensen, & Jensen, Klaus Bruhn. (2012). The handbook of media and communication research qualitative and quantitative methodologies (2nd ed.). London ; New York: Routledge. (E-Book Central)
• Orlik, P. B. (2008).  Electronic media criticism : Applied perspectives (3rd ed.). New York: Routledge/Taylor and Francis Group.
• Taylor, P. A. (2008). Critical Theories of Mass Media Then and Now. Maidenhead, Berkshire, England: McGraw Hill/Open University Press.  (E-Book Central)
• The  The SAGE handbook of media processes and effects  (2009). . Los Angeles: SAGE.
• The  The SAGE handbook of media studies . (2004). . Thousand Oaks, Calif: Sage Publications.
• Sparks, G. G. (2013).  Media effects research : A basic overview  (4th ed.). Australia ; Boston, MA: Wadsworth Cengage Learning.
• Tovares, R. D. (2010).  How to write about the media today  . Santa Barbara, Calif: Greenwood.
• Volkmer, I. (2012).  Handbook of global media research  (1st ed.). Hoboken, N.J: Wiley-Blackwell.
• Ward, J., & Hansen, K. (1997). Search strategies in mass communication (3rd ed.). New York: Longman. Print. Reference Stacks   P91.3 .W37 1997. 
• Wimmer, R. D. (2011).  Mass media research : An introduction (9th ed.). Boston, Mass: Cengage- Wadsworth.

Click on a subject phrase to find books and videos with that subject that are available in the IC Library

• Advertising media planning.
• Advertising--Research.
• Amusements--United States--Statistics.
• Communication Methodology
• Communication Research
• Communication Research Methodology
• Consumer behavior--United States--Statistics.
• Commercial products--United States--Statistics.
• Consumers' preferences--United States--Statistics.
• Consumers--United States--Statistics.
• Content analysis (Communication)
• Data mining
• Demographic surveys.
• Focus groups.
• Generation Y--United States--Statistics.
• Home entertainment industry--United States--Statistics.
• Internet research.
• Interviewing in marketing research.
• Journalism--Objectivity.
• Market surveys
• Marketing research.
• Marketing research--Statistical methods
• Mass media--Objectivity.
• Mass media--Research
• Mass media--Research--Methodology.
• Motion picture industry--United States--Statistics.
• Older people--United States--Statistics.
• Organization--Research.
• Organization-Research-Methodology
• Organizational behavior--Research--Methodology.
• Population--Statistics.
• Quantitative research.
• Questionnaires.
• Recreation--United States--Statistics.
• Scaling (Social sciences)
• Social sciences--Methodology
• Social sciences--Research--Methodology
• Social sciences--Statistical methods  This links to the subject heading "statistical methods" in the library's catalog.
• Social sciences--Statistical methods--Computer programs.  Links to help books on statistical software packages.
• Social surveys--Methodology.
• Teenage consumers.
• Young adult consumers--United States--Statistics.
• Young consumers--United States--Statistics.
• Youth--United States--Statistics.