Overview of the Industry
These are questions and sources which will start you on your research. They may provide you with an overview of the industry and specific sources to consult.
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources Great starting point for what sources to consult when researching various business topics and industries. Lists such resources such as organizations, statistical sources, industry publications.
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)Search under Industries, Plunkett Reports.
Search under Industries, Plunkett Reports
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)Search under NAICS code or Subject and Document Type-Industry Report
- StatistaBe sure to look at dossiers, studies and industry reports if available. These usually contain more information than just basic statistics.
Size of the Industry
This is often difficult to determine as figures from different sources may vary widely. Some suggested sources are as follows:
Database Searches in the following may be helpful.
- NetAdvantage (S&P)From Standard &Poor's/CFRA this database contains industry reports on 30 domestic industries and 10 international industries including size of the industry, a Porter's Five Forces Analysis, important indicators and industry sources. Go to the Research tab after you have signed in and use the menu to find industry overviews.
- StatistaSubjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables. - Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Search either by Subject, example ("soft drink industry") or IC NAICS Code and Publication Type: Industry Profile
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. - ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information.
News, Trends and Forecasts
- Where is the industry now?
- Where might it be in 3-6 months vs 1-5 years?
- Is the industry in a growth or retreat mode?
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more. - Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. - ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information. - Wall Street Journal (1984-present) (ProQuest)Contents: Full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal, including The Wall Street Journal Online (2010-present), and WSJ: the Magazine from The Wall Street Journal (Jun 2011-Apr 2013).
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching. - StatistaOften has forecasts for industries and products.
Economic Indicators
- What economic indicators might influence a particular industry either positively or negatively? Labor, interest rates, etc.
- Is the industry cyclical or non-cyclical? Does it produce durable or non-durable goods?
- Price of commodities/raw materials used in production. How much do they effect production and price?
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsDetailed releases of a wide variety of economic statistics including: Consumer Price Index (CPI), productivity, consumer spending, wages and earnings, employment/unemployement, inflation among others. They Publish the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE), a survey of American buying habits (spending, earnings, etc.) as well as The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) that measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy. Tracks such indicators such as GDP (Gross Domestic Product) and National Income and Product Accounts.
- Economic Indicators (Census Bureau)Includes Manufacturers shipments, inventories & orders; Housing Vacanies & Ownership; Construction spending & new home sales; Housing Starts & building permits; Manufacturing, trade inventories & sales; United States International Trade in Goods & Services (Trade Deficit); and others.
- Federal Reserve Board (FED)Various statistical releases such as: foreign exchange rates, interest rates, commercial paper, banks, flow of funds, etc. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual statistics both current and historical. Monetary policy and meeting transcripts and other publications.
- Conference BoardProvides a rich array of actionable, authoritative economic data on the business cycle, labor demand and trends, and several barometers of consumer and business confidence, including the widely quoted Consumer Confidence Index and the Leading Economic Indicators. Limited data.
Domestic vs International Markets
Some questions to research:
- Is the industry strong or weak domestically vs overseas competition?
- How is it effected by tariffs?
- Does the industry make most of its sales/profit domestically or overseas? What particular geographic regions of the world?
- International Trade Administration - U.S. Census BureauSearch under Data and Analysis. Information on various industries as well as tariffs, trade statistics. Coverage of a wide range of industries.
Market Share
Who are the dominant players? This is often found in industry overviews and articles. When searching databases use the industry name or SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) or North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) codes (if the database allows) and terms such as: market share, rank, ranking, top or leaders.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Covers all areas of business.
Contents: Full-text articles, books, news industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, working papers, and more. - Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)Contains detailed company and industry news and information including company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, company histories, and more.
Contents: Company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. - ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)This collection, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, contains resources covering accounting, marketing, sports and business, and economics.
Contents: Full-text articles, dissertations, working papers, periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, case studies, and market information. - StatistaSubjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
Financial Information
Total Size/Sales of the Industry:
Use the databases and resources such as the S&P Industry Surveys in the NetAdvantage database and Statista recommended above.
Some things to consider:
- Smaller industries may be difficult to find information on.
- Industry Association searches may be useful in that these associations often compile statistics and publications for their members. They may not be available for free to non-members however.
- Industry Trade Publications-these often publish Year end, State of the Industry or similar worded issues which may be available.
Innovations/New Products/Technology
Use similar sources and strategies that you used in searches on market share. Use terms such as: new product(s), service introduction, product introduction.
Wire Services and news releases by companies themselves are often the first place where new products are announced.
Legal & Regulatory Issues
What sort of laws or regulations might effect the particular industry that you are researching? You should look at not just current laws/regulations but also pending or future regulations/court cases.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas.
- Regulations.govFind and comment on Federal administrative regulations
- Congress.govFind the status and history of bills in the current or prior legislature of Congress. Includes Committee Reports, Roll Call votes, Public Laws, U.S. Code, Congressional Record, etc.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Industry Associations, Publications, Trade Shows and News
- Business Insights (Gale) (Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials)Go to Advanced Search, Search by Keywords or NAICS/SIC codes and under Description-choose Associations.
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources Great starting point for what sources to consult when researching various business topics and industries. Lists such resources such as organizations, statistical sources, industry publications.
- Serials Directory (EBSCO)Contents: Bibliographic information, historical data, and current pricing of popular magazines, journals, and other periodicals.
Internet Search for Organizations and Their Publications
Search as in the example below which uses the Advanced Search feature found in Google.
Trade Shows
Trade Shows can be useful in determining new products and current state of the industry. Many but not all are open to the public. Use a similar search as the one above on organizations to find shows of interest.
- Events Eye-Trade Show Directory
Industry News
Search databases mentioned previously.
