Statistics and Datasets
Library Databases With a Statistical Emphasis
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Contents: Statistical tables.
- data.census.gov
The data.census.gov platform provides access to data and digital content from the US Census Bureau including some data previously available through American FactFinder.
Contents: Census data.
- SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Coverage includes sports equipment sales, sports participation statistics, the fan market, sports marketing information, and sponsorship for all major sports.
Contents: Full-text news and market research.
- Catalyst, powered by MRI-Simmons (formerly Simmons Insights)
Contains U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, and media habits. Users can create custom reports to analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.
Note: Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Need search tips? Try: How to Use Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) and Catalyst-MRI/Simmons YouTube Videos.
- International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
Site includes a link to IMF eLibrary which includes access to IMF publications.
Contents: Time series data for major economic aggregates, current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, currency, interest rates, prices, production, trade, GDP, and more.
- Vital Statistics of the United States (VSUS)
Annual reports from the CDC/National Center for Health Statistics that present detailed vital statistics data.
Contents: Data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces in the United States. 1890-2003.
- BloombergBloomberg is a terminal-bound financial services platform that provides analysis and quotes for equities (stocks) and indices, company and economic data for the countries of the world, real-time and historical industry and market news, and advanced analytical and data functions. It is an industry standard in the financial services and investment banking industries. Higher education terminals - including Ithaca College terminals found in the Trading Room in the School of Business and in the Library (to the right in an office behind the New Books shelf) do not include the trading module and market data is delayed by 15 minutes.
- Morningstar Investment Center
Find stock and mutual fund research, including information on the New York Stock Exchange, exchange-traded funds, and investment indexes.
Contents: Articles, videos, financial information.
Note: Access is limited to 1 user at a time.
- NetAdvantage (S&P)
From Standard & Poor's, this database contains financial information for US and global companies, including current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings, industry surveys, and other information for business research and analysis.
Note: For an overview of the database, please see our video.
