HLTH 31600: Research Methods and Analysis
Best Bets
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains abstracts and citations for biomedical and health journals.
Contents: Citations and abstracts. 1809-present.
- PubMed
Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Contents: Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, biomedical literature, and books.
Need search tips? Take a look at our YouTube video on how to use PubMed.
- CINAHL (EBSCO)This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)This is a great tool for finding sports medicine, fitness, coaching and education articles. Be sure to include the keyword "research" if looking for research articles.
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- PsycInfo (APA) (EBSCO)
Subjects covered include psychology, behavioral and social science, neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text journal articles and dissertations.
- ScienceDirect
Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, computer science, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, education, and psychology.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text articles from scientific, technological, and medical scholarly journals and reference books published by Elsevier.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database contains articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as Associated Press (AP) video content (1930s-present).
Contents: Full-text articles and video.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, covers all aspects of education.
Contents: Abstracts, citations, and some full-text of journal articles, research and technical reports, and an education-specific thesaurus. 1966-present.
- Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Contents: Full-text and citations of dissertations and theses on a variety of topics.
Text Book
Introduction to Health Research Methods by ISBN: 9781284197570Publication Date: 2020-03-01"Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the Third Edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods provides a practical, step-by-step guide to conducting quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research"--
Menti.com
