Jennifer Richards
Getting Started
Ithaca College Photographs, Ithaca College Archives & Special Collections. "Campus Architectural Model (South Hill Campus), Ithaca College, Ithaca, NY, photographed from the Northeast, taken February, 1965. (Detail)" New York Heritage Digital Collections. Accessed September 18, 2018.
Here are some of the best tools for architecture research. If you're not sure where to start, try any of the links listed below.
For additional resources, check out the categories listed on the left of the page.
Best Bets
Databases
-
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Includes citations and articles on art, including fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, architecture, and design.
Contents: Indexing for art reproductions, indexing and abstracts for periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, and dissertations. Also includes images and full-text articles.
-
Oxford Art Online (Grove Art Online)
This database provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Contents: Articles, images, subject entries, and biographies along with bibliographies.
Encyclopedias
-
Oxford Companion to Architecture
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780198605683Publication Date: 2009-09-17 -
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects byCall Number: Reference Stacks ; NA40 .M25 1982ISBN: 0029250005Publication Date: 1982
-
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780195309911Publication Date: 2009-03-23 -
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780195300826Publication Date: 2007-06-18 -
The Encyclopedia of Housing, Second Edition
by
Call Number: Reference Stacks HD7287 .E53 2012ISBN: 9781412989572Publication Date: 2012-06-13
