Architecture

History

1892-1959

The Ithaca Conservatory of Music was first housed in the Wilgus Opera House in the upper levels of the Rothschild Brothers Department Store in downtown Ithaca. Photos of the buildings that related to the Conservatory and it's subsequent schools (1892-1931), and Ithaca College's downtown campus (1931-1959) are available from the C. Hadley Smith photograph collection. Use the subject guide on the left-hand side to navigate by building types.

1960s-1980s

Ithaca College began it's south hill expansion in the 1960s. The C. Hadley Smith photograph collection shows some of our early construction and completed buildings. For a complete list of Ithaca College facilities, the year of construction, and more, see our guide to Campus Buildings. Below are some related magazine and newspaper articles regarding campus architecture:

Peggy Ryan Williams Center

2 New Buildings at Ithaca College Meet High Environmental Standards Park Center for Business and Sustainable Enterprise, (Stern, architect ) (Holt, architect)
Carlson, Scott Chronicle of Higher Education October 26, 2007 

Health Center

3-Story Health Center Serves P.T.'s, Sick Callers and Overnighters  Ithacan, Nov. 21, 1963  (see page 3)

Planned Campus Construction in the 1960s

 $20 Million Program Continues: Building Program Third phase Dates Announced by President Dillingham Thursday, March 7, 1963 page 1 By Harold Jansen About Ford Hall, Tallman & Tallman Architects

At upstate campus, saving energy is part of dorm life Foderaro, Lisa W. "At upstate campus, saving energy is part of dorm life." New York Times, 17 Apr. 2010, p. A14(L). 

Circle Apartments  Architect's website: Vincent Nicotra ( vnicotra@qpkdesign.com )of QPK Design, was in charge of Circle Apartments

Circle Apartments Ithaca College  (by Ithacating)  Consideration of a sketch plan for the proposed Circle Apartments Expansion located at 1033 Danby Road (NYS Route 96B), Town of Ithaca Tax Parcel No.’s 43-1-2.2, 43-1-2.3 and 41-1-30.2, Multiple Residence and Medium Density Residential Zones. The project includes the demolition of four existing apartment buildings (32 bedrooms) along with the removal of multiple existing parking spaces on the property to allow for the construction of 78 four bedroom apartment units in nine new buildings (net increase of 280 bedrooms), construction of an approximately 2,500 square foot expansion to the Community Building, and a net addition of 106 parking spaces on the property. The project will also include new storm water facilities, walkways, drives and landscaping. College Circle Associates, LLC and Ithaca College. Owners/Applicants; Herman Sieverding, Integrated Acquisition & Development Corp., Agent.

Circles Site Gains Approval  Ithacan, May 4, 2002 page 3 by Joe Geraghty

Ithaca College Campus, Tallman and Thomas Architects, Ithaca, New York executive producer John Keshishoglou ; producer, Skip Landen ; cinematographer, Walter Reese. DVD A-0049A (Available in College Archives, Ithaca College Library) Summary: A Tour of the Ithaca College campus at completion of the initial phase of construction with Dillingham Center completed, providing exterior views of the campus as well as interior views of Dillingham Center, Textor lecture hall, and the Library. 

Ithaca College Receives Loan: Funds Will Be Used for Construction on New Campus  Ithaca College, "The Ithacan, 1960-04-13" (1960). The Ithacan, 1959-60. 18. p.1 Outlines early plans of the South Hill campus by Tallman & Tallman Architects

Ithaca College, Williams Hall renovation Ithaca College, Williams Hall renovation. (1993). American School & University, 66(3), 206. Request full text via ILL

Ithaca goes modern: a new school of business by Robert A.M. Stern Source: Competitions, 2005-2006 Winter, v.15, n.4, p.32-39, drawings, sections, plans, site plans, diagrams
Request full text via ILL

Performing arts center completes Ithaca college campus Source: Progressive Architecture; June 1969, Vol. 50, p35-35, 1p
Physical Description:Illustration ; Plan

Planning Board Delays Approval of Plan After Lengthy Environmental Discussion Ithacan, March 7, 2002 by Joe Geraghty, p.3
Nicotra

Robert A.M. Stern : on campus : architecture, identity, and community  See section on Ithaca College, pp.477-487
Photo essay on Park Center for Business and Sustainable Enterprise
Includes: campus master plan by Sasaki Associates
Ithaca College Campus Plan
North-South section through cafe
North-South section through pedestrian bridge

Towards a Sustainable Campus:  Authors: Thompson, Quay1 Source: Environmental Design & Construction. Sep2007, Vol. 10 Issue 9, p30-34. 4p. 
The article provides information on the sustainable design of the new Gateway Building at the Ithaca College in New York. The vegetated roof of the building absorbs some of the ungathered rainwater and releases it back into the atmosphere. The building is designed to realize energy savings of 34% as compared to code-compliant and standard construction. The distributed heat-pump system enabled the building to spread heating and cooling from one space to another. 
HOLT Architects, Ithaca, N.Y.

Towers [East] : 14 story apartment building to be completed by Sept. 1966 The Ithacan; Date: Jan 23, 1964; Section: Front page; Page: 1 Tallman & Tallman