THEA 12000: Theatrical Design
Audio
- Jazz Music Library (Alexander Street Press)
This collection of Jazz recordings is also available as part of a broader streaming audio collection, Music Online: Listening.
Contents: Streaming audio.
Sound Effects:
- Zapsplat: "the fastest growing free sound effects library online. We’ve 30,177 professional, free sounds to download instantly in mp3 or original WAV file format and upload hundreds more every week. We also have hundreds of royalty free music tracks. Our sfx and music can be used in almost any project be it non-commercial, commercial and even for broadcast."
- Freesound: "Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse. Freesound provides new and interesting ways of accessing these samples, allowing users to:
- browse the sounds in new ways using keywords, a "sounds-like" type of browsing and more
- upload and download sounds to and from the database, under the same creative commons license
- interact with fellow sound-artists!"
- soundsnap: "soundsnap focuses solely on professional sound effects. We are the first and most popular sfx library to allow unlimited download. You can use any sound as many times as you like, without any extra fees." Requires login. Contact Prof. TenEyck for more information.
Radio:
Audio:
Old Time Radio: Contains archived radio programs back to 1930
1950s Radio Personalities (DJs): Try the following names in search engines such as Google, Bing, and DuckDuckgo to find audio and video on the following big names in 50s radio:
- Al Benson "The Godfather of Black Radio" of WGES (sample recordings) on Youtube
- Dick Clark (Philadelphia)
- "Lucky" Cordell (Chicago, WVON)
- Frantic Ernie Durham (Flint, MI WJLB)
- Alan Freed (Cleveland, WJW)
- Jack "The Rapper" Gibson (Atlanta, WERD)
- "Joltin Joe" Howard (Detroit, WCHB)
- Maurice "Hot Rod" Hulbert (Baltimore, WBEE)
- George "Hound Dog" Lorenz (Buffalo/Niagara Falls, NY, WXRA , WKBW, and Cleveland, )
- Sid "The Real" McCoy
- Nathaniel "The Magnificent" Montague (including Chicago, San Francisco, New York, Los Angeles)
- Robert "Wolfman Jack" Smith (Del Rio, Texas, XERF)
- Martha Jean "The Queen" Steinburg (Detroit, WCHB)
- "Honey Boy" Thomas
- Georgie Woods
Old Time Radio Comedy Favorites by ISBN: 1570190151Publication Date: 1995This collection features supreme sound quality. Each of the 12 episodes have been completely digitally restored and remastered to produce topnotch quality sound. This collection includes an illustrated 49-page booklet describing the series represented here and their place in the history of radio comedy, The foreword was written by George Burns. This is a great sampling of the best of old time radio comedy. So listen and laugh with the masters of classic radio comedy.
A Word from Our Sponsor by ISBN: 9780823253715Publication Date: 2013During the "golden age" of radio, from roughly the late 1920s until the late 1940s, advertising agencies were arguably the most important sources of radio entertainment. Most nationally broadcast programs on network radio were created, produced, written, and/or managed by advertising agencies: for example, J. Walter Thompson produced "Kraft Music Hall" for Kraft; Benton & Bowles oversaw "Show Boat" for Maxwell House Coffee; and Young & Rubicam managed "Town Hall Tonight" with comedian Fred Allen for Bristol-Myers. Yet this fact has disappeared from popular memory and receives little attention from media scholars and historians. By repositioning the advertising industry as a central agent in the development of broadcasting, author Cynthia B. Meyers challenges conventional views about the role of advertising in culture, the integration of media industries, and the role of commercialism in broadcasting history. Based largely on archival materials, A Word from Our Sponsor mines agency records from the J. Walter Thompson papers at Duke University, which include staff meeting transcriptions, memos, and account histories; agency records of BBDO, Benton & Bowles, Young & Rubicam, and N. W. Ayer; contemporaneous trade publications; and the voluminous correspondence between NBC and agency executives in the NBC Records at the Wisconsin Historical Society. Mediating between audiences' desire for entertainment and advertisers' desire for sales, admen combined "showmanship" with "salesmanship" to produce a uniquely American form of commercial culture. In recounting the history of this form, Meyers enriches and corrects our understanding not only of broadcasting history but also of advertising history, business history, and American cultural history from the 1920s to the 1940s.
Encyclopedia of Radio by ISBN: 9781579582494Publication Date: 2003Produced in association with the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago, the Encyclopedia of Radioincludes more than 600 entries covering major countries and regions of the world as well as specific programs and people, networks and organizations, regulation and policies, audience research, and radio's technology. This encyclopedic work will be the first broadly conceived reference source on a medium that is now nearly eighty years old, with essays that provide essential information on the subject as well as comment on the significance of the particular person, organization, or topic being examined.
