Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Lynne Warren (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005
This 3 volume encyclopedia set presents the important developments, movements, photographers, photographic institutions, and theoretical aspects of the field along with information about equipment, techniques, and practical applications of photography. To bring this history alive for the reader, the set is illustrated in black and white throughout, and each volume contains a color plate section. A useful glossary of terms is also included.
Photography Encyclopedia by Fred McDarrah
Publication Date: 1999
This A-Z reference provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of the art, science and business of photography. It contains biographical entries, and explanations of key technical terms, as well as entries on awards, galleries and museums, magazines, books and newspapers, and an historical timeline.
The Abrams Encyclopedia of Photography by Quentin Bajac; Christian Caujolle
Call Number: Reference Stacks TR9 .P4813 2004
Publication Date: 2004
A comprehensive reference traces the history of photography from the invention of the daguerreotype in 1829 to the breakthroughs in digital photography today, covering such key themes as portraits, still lifes, photojournalism, and NASA images.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Robin Lenman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005
Organized both thematically and geographically. There are over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on other individuals who have significantly influenced photographic culture from the early 19th century to the present. The book's scope is worldwide. The book is extensively illustrated and includes many pictures never before published. The majority of the 1600-plus entries include suggestions for further reading. But the work's usefulness is further enhanced by the inclusion of an extensive bibliography, a chronology of photographic history, a list of important websites, and an index of people.
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by John Hannavy (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007
The first comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Its coverage is global. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being 'a solution in search of a problem' when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of the twentieth century.
A World History of Photography by Naomi Rosenblum
Publication Date: 2008
Naomi Rosenblum's classic text investigates all aspects of photography -- aesthetic, documentary, commercial, and technical -- while placing photos in their historical context. Included among the more than 800 photographs by men and women are both little-known and celebrated masterpieces, arranged in stimulating juxtapositions that illuminate their visual power. Exploring the diverse roles that photography has played in the communication of ideas, Rosenblum devotes special attention to topics such as portraiture, documentation, advertising, and photojournalism, and to the camera as a means of personal artistic expression. The revised fourth edition includes updates on technical advances as well as a new chapter on contemporary photographers.
Contemporary Photographers by Martin M. Evans (Editor)
Publication Date: 1995
This work contains biographical and bibliographical information on some 750 active photographers from around the world. There is particularly strong coverage of Indian, Far Eastern and Latin American photographers.