Communication Management and Design
Data & Statistics
- data.census.gov
The data.census.gov platform provides access to data and digital content from the US Census Bureau including some data previously available through American FactFinder.
Contents: Census data.
- Statista
Subjects are geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, and include consumer goods, media, politics, sports, travel, and technology.
Contents: Statistical information, data, infographics, and tables.
- Catalyst, powered by MRI-Simmons (formerly Simmons Insights)
Contains U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, and media habits. Users can create custom reports to analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior.
Note: Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Need search tips? Take a look at our YouTube video and the Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView) Help section of our Marketing: Statistical Sources Guide.
- SRDS Media Solutions
Includes access to the following databases: Consumer magazines, Claritas 360, Digital websites, Newspapers, Out of Home, Radio, TV & Cable.
Contents: Advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, web sites, and audit statements.
- SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Coverage includes sports equipment sales, sports participation statistics, the fan market, sports marketing information, and sponsorship for all major sports.
Contents: Full-text news and market research.
- Statistics and Datasets Library GuideLibrary Guide by Jim Bondra, Business Librarian, that lists general statistics and data sites.
Websites
- The Advertising Association / Warc UK companies that provides the database called Expenditure Report. The report covers advertising expenditure data going back to 1982 in addition to 2 years of projections. IC Library does not subscribe but some data is mentioned in the press release.
- Alliance for Audited Media Organization that audits circulation statistics and generates reports to assist advertisers and publishers with media sales. Formerly known as the Audit Bureau of Circulations. Some free reports are available.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce Covers a wide variety of economic indicators at the national, international, regional and industry levels, including: Gross Domestic Product(GDP), Personal income, Balance of Trade, and an overview of the U.S. Economy.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Department of Labor Detailed releases of a wide variety of economic statistics including: Consumer Price Index (CPI), productivity, consumer spending, wages and earnings, employment/unemployement, inflation among others. They Publish the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE), a survey of American buying habits (spending, earnings, etc.) as well as The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) that measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities.
- Cornell Program on Applied Demographics (PAD) PAD works with the New York Statistical Information System (NYsis), Regional Economic Development, and Consumer Demographics and Market Strategies (CDMS). Contact information can be found here. Cornell is home to a U.S. Census Research Data Center (RDC). It is located at the Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER).
- EDGAR Database (Securities and Exchange Commission) Official SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) documents such as Form 10-K, 10-Q, Proxy statements, registration statements, and merger and acquisition documents. *Be sure to look at the DEF14A (Proxy) statements and the Management Discussion and Analysis sections of Form 10-k, Form 10-Q for insights into management.
- MarketingCharts Charts and data for marketers in web and Excel format from Watershed Publishing.
- NationMaster A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
- Pew Research: Journalism Project Assesses the state of news in society. Includes a link to The State of the News Media Annual Report as well as other research reports and analysis.
- Research and Markets: Market research reports Company, based in Ireland, that sells international market research reports on a variety of specific topics.
- SEC Filings from Yahoo Announcements of SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) filings updated daily from Yahoo.
- SEC Info Securities Information from the SEC EDGAR database. Search by Name, Industry, Business, SIC Code, Area Code,Topic, CIK, Accession Number, File Number, Date, ZIP. You may have to join but membership is free.
- Trendwatching.com TRENDWATCHING.COM and its 3,000+ trendspotters scan the US, Canada, European Union, Japan, South Korea, India, South Africa, Australia, Brazil and 50 other nations & regions for hot, emerging consumer trends and related new business ideas. Free monthly bulletin briefings are archived back to first issue (November 2002).
- VALS (Values, Attitudes, and Lifestyles) By Strategic Business Insights, this measurement tool based on psychographic segmentation is used in marketing to define targets.
- data.census.gov
The data.census.gov platform provides access to data and digital content from the US Census Bureau including some data previously available through American FactFinder.
Contents: Census data.
