The Constitution
You can access high resolution images and transcripts of the Constitution and Bill of Rights through the National Archive's "Charters of Freedom" website.
Primary Sources
- GovInfoPortal to documents from the Government Publishing Office (budget, bills, hearings, Constitution, US Code, etc.). Formerly: FDsys, GPO Access
- Oyez: Supreme Court MultimediaOyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.
Best Bets: Databases
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
Sample search in EBSCO:
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Contents: Abstracts and some full-text of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in the social sciences.
- Policy ArchiveA digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.
Organizations
- Bill of Rights InstituteThe Bill of Rights Institute provides resources for educating the public about founding documents
- Center for Constitutional RightsOrganization founded in 1966 that is dedicated to protecting rights stated in the U.S. Constitution and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
- First Amendment CenterClearinghouse for information concerning the five freedoms (speech, press, assembly, petition and religion) guaranteed by the First Amendment to our Constitution
- National Constitution CenterMuseum in Philadelphia that educates the public about the Constitution through exhibits and events.