Gay Marriage: Legal & Constitutional Issues
Background Information
- "Obergefell v. Hodges." Oyez, 30 Jul. 2018 (you can stream the oral arguments)
- SCOTUSblog: Obergefell v. Hodges (July 28, 2015)
- CRS Report: Obergefell v. Hodges: Same-Sex Marriage Legalized (August 7, 2015)
- "Supreme Court's Ruling in 'Obergefell v. Hodges': Excerpts." World News Digest.
- "Same-Sex Marriage." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2017
- Jost, K. (2013, March 15). Gay marriage. CQ Researcher (does not cover Obergefell)
Best Bets: Databases
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO)
Formerly known as LGBT life with Full Text, this database provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications.
Contents: Full-text articles, primary sources, monographs, magazines, and newspapers and a specialized thesaurus.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Supports gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender research.
Contents: Citations and full-text articles from academic, radical, community, and independent presses. 1970-present.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- EBSCO Research LibrarySearches across multiple indexes such as: Academic Search Premier , Alternative Press Index , America: History and Life , LGBT Life, Newspaper Source and SocINDEX with Full Text
Click on "Choose databases" above the search box and check the ones you want. Here is a sample search: SU Same-sex marriages (SU=subject).
- Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Subjects covered include sociology, psychology, anthropology, criminology, political science, and education.
Contents: Abstracts and full-text academic journal articles, newspaper articles, and conference papers.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Contents: Abstracts and some full-text of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in the social sciences.
- Policy ArchiveA digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.
