POLT 350: Political Theory: Governing Gender
Books
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)Ebook Central titles can be discovered in Library Search > Library. If you search it directly, you can search the fulltext content of all the books in the collection and find more specific references to people, places, concepts, etc. Sign in to add ebooks to your virtual bookshelf and for highlights and annotations.
- WorldCat via FirstSearchSearch this to discover books not held by Ithaca College Library that you can borrow using Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Get It" arrow to link into the Interlibrary Loan system. Consider requesting just a chapter, not the whole book, if that is needed; it will arrive sooner.
Selected Books
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender and Citizenship by
This handbook provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of key theoretical, analytical and normative approaches, topics and debates in contemporary scholarship about gender and citizenship. It demonstrates how diverse historical, social, political, economic and legal dimensions have shaped the evolution of gendered citizenship in different parts of the world, as well as how these dimensions transform the interrelations between individuals, social groups and communities across time, place and space. Bringing together insights from scholars across gender studies, political science, law, sociology, philosophy and cultural studies, this book demonstrates how intersectional and transnational approaches can provide us with theoretical and methodological tools to understand gendered inequalities and injustices in societies. Chapters examine relations between gender, sexuality, populism and nationalism; transnational feminism during times of #MeToo and Black Lives Matter; the increasing political and popular support of LGBTQ+ claims as human rights issues; trans/gender citizenship; gendered indigenous citizenship; and the intersections of gender, religion and citizenship, among others. The handbook concludes with future directions for research guided by the main debates about intersectional and transnational approaches in the field of gender and citizenship. This handbook will be valuable reading for scholars, researchers, and policymakers around the globe in Gender Studies, Citizenship Studies, Sociology, Law, Political Science, and Cultural Studies.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 3031571436Publication Date: 2024
Engendering democracy in Africa : women, politics and development by
This book investigates women's political participation in Africa. Going beyond the formal institutions of electoral politics, it explores a range of spaces where everyday politics take place, at national and at local levels. In recent years there have been significant improvements in the number of women elected to parliament in Africa. However, there is little indication that this is translating into better developmental outcomes, and indeed there is mounting evidence that it could in fact help to bolster some authoritarian regimes. Starting from the premise that politics is a far broader project than securing a seat in national or local legislatures alone, this book explores the opportunities for women's political participation across a number of informal spaces where women and men gather, organise and interact in a more regular and systematic manner. Combining insights from political science, sociology and feminist theory and drawing on detailed cases from the Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria and Rwanda, it examines how power in its multiple dimensions circulates across a range of everyday political spaces, while drawing attention to the links between domestic gender inequalities and the global political economy. Inviting scholars, practitioners and activists to broaden their focus beyond formal electoral institutions if they want to support women to become more politically active, this book provides fresh insights into major issues at the heart of African studies, development studies, gender and development, democratisation, and international relations.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1003147879Publication Date: 2022
Feminism, the Family, and the Politics of the Closet by
Feminism, the Family, and the Politics of the Closet is about placing sexual orientation politics within feminist theorizing. It is also about defining the central political issues confronting lesbian and gay men. The book brings the study of lesbians from the margins of feminist theory to the centre by critiquing the analytic frameworks employed within feminist theory that renders invisible lesbians' difference from heterosexual women. This book also outlines the basic features of lesbian and gay subordination by exploring the differences between heterosexual dominance and gender and race relations. Throughout, Calhoun aims to re-centre lesbian and gay politics away from concerns with sexual regulations and toward concern with the displacement of gays and lesbians from the public sphere of visible citizenship and from the private sphere of romance, marriage, and family.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0198295596Publication Date: 2000
The Palgrave Handbook of Gendered Violence and Technology by
This handbook provides a comprehensive treatise of the concepts and nature of technology-facilitated gendered violence and abuse, as well as legal, community and activist responses to these harms. It offers an inclusive and intersectional treatment of gendered violence including that experienced by gender, sexuality and racially diverse victim-survivors. It examines the types of gendered violence facilitated by technologies but also responses to these harms from the perspectives of victim advocates, legal analyses, organisational and community responses, as well as activism within civil society. It is unique in its recognition of the intersecting drivers of inequality and marginalisation including misogyny, racism, colonialism and homophobia. It draws together the expertise of a range of established and globally renowned scholars in the field, as well as survivor-advocate-scholars and emerging scholars, lending a combination of credibility, rigor, currency, and innovation throughout. This handbook further provides recommendations for policy and practice and will appeal to academics and students in Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law, Socio-Legal Studies, Politics, as well as Women's and/or Gender Studies.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9783030837334Publication Date: 2021
Political and Historical Encyclopedia of Women by
The original French edition of this encyclopedia, the Encyclopédie politique et historique des femmes, Second Edition has been lauded by French reviewers, and now Routledge is pleased to publish this acclaimed resource in an English language edition. From the Salic Law in medieval France to the American Revolution to today's women's representation in American and European politics, this valuable resource discusses women's participation in Western political and historical transformation. The 40 authoritative in-depth articles, written by an international team of scholars, examine women's activism in areas such as voting, emancipation, equality, and democracy, providing students and general readers with an indispensable resource.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1135456909Publication Date: 2004
Political Theory and Feminist Social Criticism by
In Political Theory and Feminist Social Criticism Brooke Ackerly demonstrates the shortcomings of contemporary deliberative democratic theory, relativism and essentialism for guiding the practice of social criticism in the real, imperfect world. Drawing theoretical implications from the activism of Third World feminists who help bring to public audiences the voices of women silenced by coercion, Brooke Ackerly provides a practicable model of social criticism. She argues that feminist critics have managed to achieve in practice what other theorists do only incompletely in theory. Complemented by Third World feminist social criticism, deliberative democratic theory becomes critical theory - actionable, coherent, and self-reflective. While a complement to democratic theory, Third World feminist social criticism also addresses the problem in feminist theory associated with attempts to deal with identity politics. Third World feminist social criticism thus takes feminist theory beyond the critical impasse of the tension between anti-relativist and anti-essentialist feminist theory.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0521659841Publication Date: 2000
The Politics of Feminist Knowledge Transfer by
The Politics of Feminist Knowledge Transfer draws together analytical work on gender training and gender expertise. Its chapters critically reflect on the politics of feminist knowledge transfer, understood as an inherently political, dynamic and contested process, the overall aim of which is to transform gendered power relations in pursuit of more equal societies, workplaces, and policies. At its core, the work explores the relationship between gender expertise, gender training, and broader processes of feminist transformation arising from knowledge transfer activities. Examining these in a reflective way, the book brings a primarily practice-based debate into the academic arena. With contributions from authors of diverse backgrounds, including academics, practitioners and representatives of gender training institutions, the editors combine a focus on gender expertise and gender training, with more theory-focused chapters.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1137486856Publication Date: 2016
The Politics of Third Wave Feminisms by
The past twenty years have witnessed a renewal of interest in feminist activism on both sides of the Atlantic. In part this has been a response to neoliberal and neoconservative attacks, both implicit and explicit, on the gains made by feminists during the 1960s and 70s. This study adds a comparative dimension to the ongoing analysis of feminism and feminist activism by mapping, analysing and theorising third wave feminisms in the US and Britain. A key addition to Gender and Politics literature, it explores third wave feminisms by situating them within a specific political context, neoliberalism, and in relation to feminist theories of intersectionality, both of which present radical opportunities and practical challenges for feminism and the feminist movement. Elizabeth Evans is Lecturer in Politics at the University of Bristol. Her research focuses on gender and politics, including engagement with formal processes and political activism. She has published widely on aspects of feminism, gender and politics, and her previous book, Gender and the Liberal Democrats, was published in 2011.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1137295279Publication Date: 2015
Routledge Handbook of East Asian Gender Studies by
The Routledge Handbook of East Asian Gender Studies presents up-to-date theoretical and conceptual developments in key areas of the field, taking a multi-disciplinary and comparative approach. Featuring contributions by leading scholars of Gender Studies to provide a cutting-edge overview of the field, this handbook includes examples from China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong and covers the following themes: theorising gender relations; women's and feminist movements; work, care and migration; family and intergenerational relationships; cultural representation; masculinity; and state, militarism and gender. This handbook is essential reading for scholars and students of Gender and Women's Studies, as well as East Asian societies, social policy and culture.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1317337336Publication Date: 2019
Routledge Handbook of Feminist Peace Research by
This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of feminist approaches to questions of violence, justice, and peace. The volume argues that critical feminist thinking is necessary to analyse core peace and conflict issues and is fundamental to thinking about solutions to global problems and promoting peaceful conflict transformation. Contributions to the volume consider questions at the intersection of feminism, gender, peace, justice, and violence through interdisciplinary perspectives. The handbook engages with multiple feminisms, diverse policy concerns, and works with diverse theoretical and methodological contributions. The volume covers the gendered nature of five major themes: * Methodologies and genealogies (including theories, concepts, histories, methodologies) * Politics, power, and violence (including the ways in which violence is created, maintained, and reproduced, and the gendered dynamics of its instantiations) * Institutional and societal interventions to promote peace (including those by national, regional, and international organisations, and civil society or informal groups/bodies) * Bodies, sexualities, and health (including sexual health, biopolitics, sexual orientation) * Global inequalities (including climate change, aid, global political economy). This handbook will be of great interest to students of peace and conflict studies, security studies, feminist studies, gender studies, international relations, and politics. Chapter 9 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0429656769Publication Date: 2021
Women, Politics, and Democracy in Latin America by
This book discusses the current tendencies in women's representation and their role in politics in Latin American countries from three different perspectives. Firstly, the authors examine cultural, political-partisan and organizational obstacles that women face in and outside institutions. Secondly, the book explores barriers in political reality, such as gender legislation implementation, public administration and international cooperation, and proposes solutions, supported by successful experiences, emphasising the nonlinearity of the implementation process. Thirdly, the authors highlight the role of women in politics at the subnational level. The book combines academic expertise in various disciplines with contributions from practitioners within national and international institutions to broaden the reader's understanding of women in Latin American politics.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1349950092Publication Date: 2016
Women and Political Participation by
An illuminating analysis of the long and ongoing struggle of women in America to gain political equality and bring about change in public policy. Women and Political Participation examines the involvement of women in American politics, concentrating mainly on their participation since the birth of the second women's movement in the late 1960s. From the creation of grassroots and national organizations to voting and running for office, this thought-provoking volume explores the diverse ways in which women have affected change and achieved greater representation in political leadership. Detailed discussions of key documents like the Declaration of Sentiments and the Equal Rights Amendment; political action committees such as EMILY's List, which supports pro-choice Democratic female candidates; Margaret Sanger, Betty Friedan, and other activists; and groups like the League of Women Voters reveal the complexities of women's efforts to gain equality and identify the barriers that remain today.
Call Number: General Stacks ; HQ1236.5.U6 B875 2004ISBN: 1851095926Publication Date: 2004
