History
Access to research materials for history.
General Encyclopedias
- Britannica Academic Edition
Contains content from Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary along with other research tools.
Contents: Reference entries, images, video, and primary source materials.
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9781593392932Publication Date: 2006Comprehensive and engaging, the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia contains 28,000 articles.
Hutchinson Dictionary of World History by ISBN: 9781859865248Publication Date: 2006Companion to world history, ranging from the early civilizations of Mesopotamia, Egypt, and China to the Balkan States and ex-Soviet republics.
Hutchinson Dictionary of 20Th Century World History by ISBN: 9781859865323Publication Date: 2005People, places, events, movements, terms, and battles.- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by ISBN: 9780195337860Publication Date: 2008-01-01Includes over 600 biographies of influential women.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by ISBN: 9780195105070Publication Date: 2003Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, the Encyclopedia is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation.
Encyclopedia of World Trade: from Ancient Times to the Present by ISBN: 9780765680587Publication Date: 2004This four-volume reference provides a historical framework for the perhaps overly broad concept of world trade. Entry topics were selected on trade organizations, influential people, commodities, events that affected trade, trade routes, navigation, religion, communications, etc.
Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
Contents: Dictionary definitions, a historical thesaurus, and timelines.
World Monarchies and Dynasties by ISBN: 9780765680501Publication Date: 2004Throughout history, royal dynasties have dominated countries and empires around the world. Kings, queens, emperors, chiefs, pharaohs, czars - whatever title they ruled by, monarchs have shaped institutions, rituals, and cultures in every time period and every corner of the globe.
Historical Dictionary of Slavery and Abolition by ISBN: 9780810859661Publication Date: 2014For almost four thousand years, men and women with power have exploited vulnerable populations for cheap or free labor. These slaves, serfs, helots, tenants, peons, bonded or forced laborers, etc., built pyramids and temples, dug canals and mined the earth for precious metals and gemstones. They built the palaces and mansions in which the powerful lived, grown the food they ate, spun the cloth that clothed them.
