Skip to Main Content

Independent Media

I. F. Stone

The Izzy Award

From the Park Center for Independent Media:

The Izzy Award is named after maverick journalist I. F. "Izzy" Stone, who launched I. F. Stone's Weekly in 1953 and exposed government deception, McCarthyism, and racial bigotry. Presented by the Park Center for Independent Media annually for "outstanding achievement in independent media," the Izzy Award goes to an independent outlet, journalist, or producer for contributions to our culture, politics, or journalism created outside traditional corporate structures...

Past winners include Amy Goodman, Jeremy Scahill, Naomi Klein, John Carlos Frey, Glenn Greenwald, Todd Miller and independent news sources such as “City Limits” and “Mother Jones.”

I.F. Stone Hall of Fame

From the Park Center for Independent Media:

Membership in the I. F. Stone Hall of Fame is given to journalists who regularly produce groundbreaking stories on the most important issues of the day, especially stories ignored or downplayed in mainstream news media. To qualify for the Hall of Fame, journalists need to have won the annual Izzy Award and have continued to produce content that would qualify them to win it again and again. This occasional honor is reserved for the greatest and most productive journalists of our era . . . the new generation of Izzy Stones.

In 2016, Amy Goodman, executive producer and host of Democracy Now!, who received the very first Izzy Award with Glenn Greenwald, was inducted.

In 2014, inaugural members Glenn Greenwald, who with Amy Goodman received the very first Izzy Award, and Jeremy Scahill, who received the second Izzy Award, were inducted.


In IC Library

YouTube & Vimeo


Cathy Michael

Profile Photo
Cathy Michael
Ithaca College Library 953 Danby Rd
Ithaca, NY 14850‑7002