JOUR 25000: Journalism History
Books
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Contains over 180,000 ebooks in nearly all disciplines including business, education, sciences, technology, law, and medicine.
Contents: Ebooks.
Need search tips? See our Guide for more information.
- WorldCat via FirstSearch
Contents: Bibliographic information for books, journals, and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
Sample Library Searches
Sample search:
Subject contains "press coverage"
Sample search using subjects:
Subject contains Journalism
AND Subject contains. "United States"
Sample search using keywords::
Any field contains "Gulf War"
AND any field contains journalism OR "mass media" OR "news coverage"
Books by Subject
- American Newspapers -- History
- American newspapers History 19th century
- American periodicals History
- Broadcast journalism United States
- Government and the press United States History
- Journalism History
- Journalism Objectivity United States History
- Journalism Political aspects United States History 20th century
- Journalism United States History 21st century
- Mass media and children United States
- Mass media and culture United States
- Mass media and girls
- Mass media & History
- Mass media and teenagers United States
- Mass media and war
- Mass media Censorship United States
- Mass media Objectivity United States
- Mass media Political aspects United States History
- Mass media Social aspects
- Minorities Press coverage
- Photojournalism United States
- Popular culture United States History
- Press Coverage
- Press and politics United States History
- Press United States History
- Race relations in mass media
- Radio -- History
- Television --History
- War in mass media
- Women in mass media
- Women journalists United States History 19th century
- Women Press coverage United States History
Selected Titles
Encyclopedia of Radio by
Produced in association with the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago, the Encyclopedia of Radioincludes more than 600 entries covering major countries and regions of the world as well as specific programs and people, networks and organizations, regulation and policies, audience research, and radio's technology. This encyclopedic work will be the first broadly conceived reference source on a medium that is now nearly eighty years old, with essays that provide essential information on the subject as well as comment on the significance of the particular person, organization, or topic being examined.
Call Number: Reference Stacks TK6544 .M84 2004ISBN: 1579582494Publication Date: 2003- Encyclopedia of television (Museum of Broadcast Communication) byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2004also available in Reference Stacks PN1992.18 .E53 2004 Covers programs, people, history, trends, policy, etc.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
2009 Dartmouth Medal Honorable Mention Library Journal Best Reference 2009 "Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal Journalism permeates our lives and shapes our thoughts in ways that we′ve long taken for granted. Whether it′s National Public Radio in the morning or the lead story on the Today show, the morning newspaper headlines, up-to-the-minute Internet news, grocery store tabloids, Time magazine in our mailbox, or the nightly news on television, journalism is woven throughout our day. The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism will cover all significant dimensions of journalism including: print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The set will contain approximately 3,000 pages in all and approximately 350 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of leading editor Christopher Sterling of The George Washington University.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN4728 .E48 2009ISBN: 0761929576Publication Date: 2009
- Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication : Volumes 1- 3Entries on the role, impact and significance of media; communication methods and theories; moral, ethical social & political aspects; and international aspects.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781628921496Publication Date: 2015- Encyclopedia of international media and communications byCall Number: ebookPublication Date: 2003Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film by
The Encyclopedia of the Documentary Filmis a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' WorkersLeaving the Lumière Factory(1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911(2004). This Encyclopediaprovides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopediaexamine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006ISBN: 1579584454Publication Date: 2005
History of the Mass Media in the United States by Call Number: Reference Stacks P92.U5 H55 1998ISBN: 1579580122Publication Date: 1998
Mass Media: a chronological encyclopedia of television, radio, motion pictures, magazines, newspapers, and books in the United States by Call Number: Reference Stacks P92.U5 H77 1987ISBN: 0824086953Publication Date: 1987
