JOUR 25000: Journalism History
Historical News
COVERAGE IN POPULAR MAGAZINES
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)
Subjects covered include general news, business, fashion, politics, education, food, sports, history, science and film reviews.
Contents: Citations and abstracts for articles from general-interest journals and magazines. 1891-1982.
- LIFE Magazine (Google Books)Google Books digitized LIFE magazine. Browse or check box to search all issues.
- Sports Illustrated Vault50+ years of Sports Illustrated content including video and images.
HISTORICAL NEWS -- MAJOR PAPERS
- U.S. Major Dailies: Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Newspaper titles covered includes The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Contents: Full-text, digitized newspaper articles including full-page views, front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, and photographs.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)1980s to present, varies by source
- Ancestry Library EditionIncludes some newspapers. NOTE: Access is limited to on-campus use. On-campus users using a wireless connection should use the Secure Ithaca College WiFi for this resource.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsCollections from the diverse resources at the Library of Congress including many photographs.
- List of Online Newspaper Archives (Wikipedia)Provides scope by year and access (free or pay)
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
- Google News ArchivePart of Google News, the archive pulls older newspaper content from the web.
- I. F. Stone's WeeklyIssues between January 17, 1953 and December 1, 1971. See website for terms of use. The Park Center for Independent Media's annual award is called the Izzy after I.F. Stone, a journalist known for uncovering government lies.
- Newspaper ArchiveCommercial / subscription newspaper archive (IC does not subscribe).
- NYS Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history
VIDEO
- Associated Press (YouTube) Archive VideoAP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press. View AP Archive’s videos via this channel – the collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
- BBC Motion GalleryGetty Images licences access to the BBC Motion Gallery, an unparalleled collection spanning from the first BBC broadcast in 1922 to the present day. With more than 125,000 license-ready clips to choose from plus over a million hours of footage from the BBC's Broadcast Archive available on request, this footage has to be seen. --website
- Al Jazeera Creative Commons RepositoryThe Al Jazeera Creative Commons Repository hosts select broadcast quality media that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses. -website
- Internet Archive (Prelinger Archives)Includes the Prelinger Archives (archive.org/details/prelinger), Political TV Ad Archive, Wayback Machine (website captures), CNN Transcript Collection and a Television Archive.
- Media History Digital LibraryA non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
- Mike Wallace InterviewCollection of broadcasts from the the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. Interviews from the the early 1960s broadcast features leading senators, artists, and politicians from the period.
- Museum of Broadcast Communications:Video ArchiveThe mission of MBC is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources. They offer an online archive.
- National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
- NBC Learn Higher EdNBC Learn believes in the power of great stories - historic news reports, original video content, and current events coverage - to engage, inspire, and educate Higher Ed students.--Mission
- NewseumFront pages from US newspapers and international newspapers are posted daily. Geographic and alphabetical by title searching is available.
- Paley Center for MediaWith Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio.
- National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
- Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University_The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). (website)
- UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScapeThe UCLA Library NewsScape contains digitized television news programs collected from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area from 2005 to the present, as well as a smaller number of news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources collected from 2004 to the present. The archive includes hundreds of thousands of hours of news programs, which are indexed and time-referenced via their closed captions and other associated metadata to enable full-text searching and interactive streaming playback.
- UCLA News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionThe UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
SPECIALTY PRESS INDEXES
- Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)Indexes articles 1991 to present. Not all articles are fulltext. Try Googling the article title. If not found, submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)Indexes ethnic, minority and native presses from 1959-present.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)Indexes gender issues from 1970 to present.
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO)Indexes titles from the 1970s forward. Most Titles begin in the early 2000s.
SPECIAL TOPICS COVERAGE
- Superstorm SandyNational Association of Broadcasters released these mini-docs, "highlighting the role of local radio and TV stations during Superstorm Sandy...The videos were produced by the University of Oklahoma and University of Alabama..."
- Understanding 9/11: A Television News ArchiveFrom the Internet Archive this is, "a library of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters. ".
- Shots of War: Photojournalism during the Spanish Civil WarUC San Diego Library.
