LGST 12000: Introduction to Legal Studies
Secondary Sources
Secondary law resources are books, news and law review articles that discuss cases and issues in the law. News articles will inform you of developments in an area of law. Law review articles will provide a history and have citations to key cases and codes that are relevant for a topic. Books will provide context and a broad overview; they will also cite key cases and codes.
Table of Contents: Secondary Research
Background Information
- Gale Encyclopedia of American LawDescription: Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents.
- CQ Researcher
This database contains reports and analysis with opposing viewpoints on current issues.
Contents: Reports including background information and chronology, assessments, pro/con statements, and bibliographies.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Contains a range of perspectives on many important social issues and current events, with pro/con viewpoints in an interdisciplinary resource. Areas of focus include science, environmental studies, politics, business, and social sciences.
Contents: Reference articles, viewpoints, infographics, news, periodical content, multimedia, and more.
- U.S. Code: Table of Popular NamesIf you have the popular name of an Act but do not know where it is codified in the U.S.C., use this table. Wikipedia is actually helpful with this, too!
- EveryCRSreport.comPosts reports by the Congressional Research Service, a nonpartisan think tank for Congress that analyzes topics of public debate.
- HeinOnline's Gun Regulation and Legislation in AmericaDatabase providing primary and secondary sources on the topic of gun control.
Legal Reference
Citations
The Bluebook by Call Number: KF245 .B58 2015ISBN: 9780692400197Publication Date: 2015Chicago refers to Bluebook style. Legal scholars and practitioners use the Bluebook style manual.
Prince's dictionary of legal citations : a reference guide for attorneys, legal secretaries, paralegals, and law students by Call Number: Reference Stacks KF246 .P73 2017ISBN: 9780837740386Publication Date: 2017"Assists the legal profession in citing legal authorities according to the rules given in: The Bluebook : A Uniform System of Citation, 20th edition (2015). This title is a companion to The Bluebook (not a replacement) and applies Bluebook rules to a representative collection of common legal authorities. The citations included are based on Bluebook rules, and the abbreviations are those found in The Bluebook or derived from its guidelines.
- New York Official Reports: Official Reports Style ManualOnline style manual by the Law Reporting Bureau. New York lawyers use the manual to prepare papers for NY Courts.
Dictionaries
- Ballentine's Law Dictionary, 3rd EditionLegal definitions via Nexis Uni.
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by Call Number: Reference Stacks KF156 .B53 2009ISBN: 0314199497Publication Date: 2009With a reputation for quality and authority that is without peer, Black's Law Dictionary is a must-have reference for attorneys, paralegals, judges, and law students. This ninth edition offers more than 45,000 expertly crafted legal definitions containing an additional 2,000 new terms, nearly 3,000 quotations from legal authorities, and selected terms with their date of origin in American and/or British opinions.
Encyclopedias
- Gale Encyclopedia of American LawBasic college level legal encyclopedia that provides an overview of legal concepts, cases, statutes, legal terms and person involved with the law.
- American Jurisprudence 2nd (AMJUR)A standard encyclopedia of American Law used by practitioners. Entries cite relevant case law.
Legal Research Guides
Gibson's New York Legal Research Guide by Call Number: Reference Stacks KFN5074 .G53 2013ISBN: 9780837739755Publication Date: 2014The basic information needed to understand legal practice in New York state.
Legal Research in a Nutshell by Call Number: General Stacks KF240 .C54 2016ISBN: 9781634604628Publication Date: 2016Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.
- Legal Research in a Nutshell: online supplementThe book has a corresponding online guide.
Legal Research by Call Number: Reference Stacks KF240 .B372 2009ISBN: 1599413353Publication Date: 2009Legal Research Illustrated offers an authoritative introduction to legal research, including the most recent methods and resources. This teaching tool provides an in-depth discussion of the legal research process, integrating electronic sources and other research aids. The Ninth Edition includes a new chapter on legal writing. Illustrations and charts help present and clarify fundamentals. Highlights of this edition include updated chapters covering the newest sources, with an emphasis on the Internet; major revisions of the chapters on federal legislation, federal legislative histories, administrative law, constitutional law, secondary sources, citators, electronic legal research, international and human rights law; and a revised glossary of legal research terms and updated appendixes.
Directory
- Martindale.comMartindale-Hubbell is the premier source for finding and researching attorneys.
Book Search
- Library Search: Advanced SearchChange the "Any Field" drop-down to Title to search by title. Under "Tweak my results" in the right menu, limit to "Library Catalog" to find books and videos available in the library.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest)Ebook Central titles can be discovered in Library Search > Library. If you search it directly, you can search the fulltext content of all the books in the collection and find more specific references to people, places, concepts, etc. Sign in to add ebooks to your virtual bookshelf and for highlights and annotations.
- WorldCat via FirstSearchSearch this to discover books not held by Ithaca College Library that you can borrow using Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Get It" arrow to link into the Interlibrary Loan system. Consider requesting just a chapter, not the whole book, if that is needed; it will arrive sooner.
Books by Subject
- Antitrust law--United States
- Arbitration, International
- Broadcasting Law and legislation
- Conflict Management
- Constitutional amendments United States
- Constitutional Law--United States}
- Copyright United States
- Corporation law--United States
- Crime United States
- Crime prevention
- Criminal law
- Criminals United States
- Criminology
- Cultural property Law and legislation
- Discrimination in employment
- Dispute resolution (Law)
- Educational law and legislation--United States
- Emigration and immigration law.
- Environmental law
- Equality
- Fair use (Copyright)
- Freedom of information--United States
- Freedom of religion--United States
- Freedom of speech--United States
- Human rights
- Indians of North America--Legal status, laws, etc.
- Intellectual property
- International law
- Internet Law and legislation United States
- Just war doctrine
- Justice
- Juvenile delinquency
- Labor laws and legislation.
- Law and politics
- Mass Media Law and legislation--United States
- Mediation, International
- Medical care Law and legislation
- Obscenity (Law) United States
- Prisons-United States
- Same-sex marriage--Law and legislation--United States.
- Social justice
- Sports Law and legislation--United States
- Terrorism
- United States. Constitution.
- United States. Federal Communication Commission
- United States. Supreme Court.
- Victims of crimes
Articles
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis)
Contents: Full-text local, national, and international newspaper articles and legal resources.
Need search tips? See our guides for tips on Legal Searching and News Searching.
Note: The terms of use of this database place limits on the length of time that users may keep copies of material accessed from this service. Please review the terms before downloading any content.
- EBSCO Research Library
Search across all of our EBSCO subscriptions for full-text articles and abstracts in almost every discipline.
Websites
- American Memory: Century of LawmakingFull-text of U.S. Congressional documents and debates from 1774-1875 including the Statutes at Large, American State Papers, U.S. Serial Set, Congressional Globe & Record, House and Senate Journals, and letters and journals from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention.
- American Presidency ProjectA digital archive of the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from Hoover to Bush (1929 to present); see also IC Library stacks at: J80 .A283. The site also includes: inaugural addresses, radio addresses, fireside chats, debates, convention speeches, and party platforms.
- The Avalon ProjectDocuments in Law, History, and Diplomacy from Yale Law School.
- Chesapeake Digital Preservation GroupThe Chesapeake Digital Preservation Group is part of the Legal Information Archive, a collaborative digital preservation program for the law library community, and features government, policy, and legal information archived from the Web through a partnership between state and academic law libraries.
- FindlawFindLaw, a part of Thomson Reuters, formally launched on Jan. 9, 1996, offered a mix of cases, statutes, legal news, a lawyer directory, an online career center and community-oriented tools such as mailing lists and message boards, including the famous "Greedy Associates" which lives on as a popular blog. The website rapidly developed into the leading legal information site on the Internet. (About page)
- Guide to Law Online (Law Library of Congress)Annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. The Law Library of Congress also hosts the Global Legal Monitor.
- JDSupraLegal news from law firms. Browse the subject tab to set up a news feed to your area of law.
- JuriGlobe - World Legal SystemsJuriGlobe is a research group formed by professors from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa, which focuses on the development of a multilingual information data bank, accessible to all on the internet, containing general information relating to the different legal systems in the world, to the different official languages and to some of the most important international commercial conventions, as well as other multilateral commercial tools.
- JustiaPortal to legal resources. Includes a directory for finding a lawyer.
- Legal Information Institute (LII)A small research, engineering, and editorial group housed at the Cornell Law School in Ithaca, NY that provides open access to the law.
- LLRX.comLaw and technology resources for legal professionals.
- Oyez: Supreme Court MultimediaOyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.
- World Legal Information InstituteFree, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law
