Mass Media History
Books
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by Call Number: Reference Stacks HF5837 .E53 2000ISBN: 078763042XPublication Date: 2000This reference looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising.
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising by Call Number: Reference Stacks HF5803 .A38 2003ISBN: 1579581722Publication Date: 2002For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the The "Advertising Age" Encyclopedia of Advertising website. Featuring nearly 600 extensively illustrated entries, The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising provides detailed historic surveys of the world's leading agencies and major advertisers, as well as brand and market histories; it also profiles the influential men and women in advertising, overviews advertising in the major countries of the world, covers important issues affecting the field, and discusses the key aspects of methodology, practice, strategy, and theory. Also includes a color insert.
Websites
- AdViewsFrom Duke University Libraries. The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television
- Clio AwardsAds that won a Clio Award.
- Internet Archive (Prelinger Archives)Includes the Prelinger Archives (archive.org/details/prelinger), Political TV Ad Archive, Wayback Machine (website captures), CNN Transcript Collection and a Television Archive.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsCollections from the diverse resources at the Library of Congress including many photographs.
- Museum of Broadcast Communications:Video ArchiveThe mission of MBC is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources. They offer an online archive.
- Paley Center for MediaWith Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio.
- Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)Professional organization of college and university educators who study the history and creation of film, television and media. Publisher of the Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film & Media Educators
