Mass Media History
Selected Titles
Mass Media: a chronological encyclopedia of television, radio, motion pictures, magazines, newspapers, and books in the United States by Call Number: Reference Stacks P92.U5 H77 1987ISBN: 0824086953Publication Date: 1987
Encyclopedia of Radio by
Produced in association with the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago, the Encyclopedia of Radioincludes more than 600 entries covering major countries and regions of the world as well as specific programs and people, networks and organizations, regulation and policies, audience research, and radio's technology. This encyclopedic work will be the first broadly conceived reference source on a medium that is now nearly eighty years old, with essays that provide essential information on the subject as well as comment on the significance of the particular person, organization, or topic being examined.
Call Number: Reference Stacks TK6544 .M84 2004ISBN: 1579582494Publication Date: 2003
On the Air: the encyclopedia of old-time radio by
Now long out of print, John Dunning's Tune in Yesterday was the definitive one-volume reference on old-time radio broadcasting. Now, in On the Air, Dunning has completely rethought this classic work, reorganizing the material and doubling its coverage, to provide a richer and more informativeaccount of radio's golden age.Here are some 1,500 radio shows presented in alphabetical order. The great programs of the '30s, '40s, and '50s are all here--Amos 'n' Andy, Fibber McGee and Molly, The Lone Ranger, Major Bowes' Original Amateur Hour, and The March of Time, to name only a few. For each, Dunning provides acomplete broadcast history, with the timeslot, the network, and the name of the show's advertisers. He also lists major cast members, announcers, producers, directors, writers, and sound effects people--even the show's theme song. There are also umbrella entries, such as "News Broadcasts," whichfeatures an engaging essay on radio news, with capsule biographies of major broadcasters, such as Lowell Thomas and Edward R. Murrow. Equally important, Dunning provides a fascinating account of each program, taking us behind the scenes to capture the feel of the performance, such as the ghastlysounds of Lights Out (a horror drama where heads rolled and bones crunched), and providing engrossing biographies of the main people involved in the show.A wonderful read for everyone who loves old-time radio, On the Air is a must purchase for all radio hobbyists and anyone interested in 20th-century American history. It is an essential reference work for libraries and radio stations.
Call Number: Reference Stacks PN1991.3.U6 D8 1998ISBN: 0195076788Publication Date: 1998
Websites
- American Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982American Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982 is a collection of 2,024 recordings from all five Pacifica Radio sister stations - KPFA-FM Berkeley, KPFK-FM Los Angeles, WBAI-FM New York City, KPFT-FM Houston, and WPFW-Washington, D.C. - highlighting both Pacifica's contributions to the women's movement as well as women's unique contributions to Pacifica Radio programming from 1963-1982. --website
- BBC Motion GalleryGetty Images licences access to the BBC Motion Gallery, an unparalleled collection spanning from the first BBC broadcast in 1922 to the present day. With more than 125,000 license-ready clips to choose from plus over a million hours of footage from the BBC's Broadcast Archive available on request, this footage has to be seen. --website
- Early Visual Mediaby Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archaeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
- FolkstreamsA national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures are streamed on the website. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. These background materials highlight the history and aesthetic importance of the traditions and the films.
- Internet Archive (Prelinger Archives)Includes the Prelinger Archives (archive.org/details/prelinger), Political TV Ad Archive, Wayback Machine (website captures), CNN Transcript Collection and a Television Archive.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsCollections from the diverse resources at the Library of Congress including many photographs.
- Media History Digital LibraryA non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
- Museum of Broadcast Communications:Video ArchiveThe mission of MBC is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources. They offer an online archive.
- National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
- Paley Center for MediaWith Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio.
- Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)Professional organization of college and university educators who study the history and creation of film, television and media. Publisher of the Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film & Media Educators
- UCLA News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionThe UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScapeThe UCLA Library NewsScape contains digitized television news programs collected from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area from 2005 to the present, as well as a smaller number of news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources collected from 2004 to the present. The archive includes hundreds of thousands of hours of news programs, which are indexed and time-referenced via their closed captions and other associated metadata to enable full-text searching and interactive streaming playback.
